Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is a very good basic recipe, but a bit too sweet for me, so start with less sugar and add to taste. I happened to be out of veg oil, so I used 1/8 C olive oil and 1/8 C almond oil, which gave it a wonderful nutty taste. I also added 1/4 tsp Coleman's mustard and some ground celery seed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I prefer a more savory coleslaw and less sweet, so I omitted the onion and sugar, then added about 1/2 tsp. of pepper, and about 1/2 tsp. of salt. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This was a great tasting recipe. I added an extra carrot and substituted Splenda for the sugar. My husband and son loved it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is a great slaw. Used 1/8 cup lightly flavored olive oil, subbed 1/8 cup Agave for sugar and used half green and half red cabbage. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I use a couple of chopped up green onions instead of generic onion, also 1 chopped apple (skin on), substitute apple cider vinegar for generic vinegar, cut back a tad on the sugar and add a touch of honey. Nice fresh flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by faithirene
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Loved the vinegar flavor to this! I served it on pulled pork sandwich. I used a bag of pre-shredded cole slaw from the store. I think it was equivalent to more than a head of cabbage, but still used the same proportions for everything else. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I subbed red cabbage, which was delicious! I cut the sugar in half, and it was still sweet to my taste. Added 1/4 cup more vinegar and fabulous- thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
this was an amazingly good and amazingly easy recipe. I'm not a big coleslaw fan because I don't like mayonnaise. My husband was making dinner and had already shredded the cabbage and carrots (he used Napa cabbage). He asked me to look for a dressing for it and this was the first I found. I didn't add the onion, but I bet it would be good, and made the dressing just as written. I used apple cider vinegar, since they didn't specify. Some reviewers have found it too sweet, but I thought it was perfect! I was so happy to have a non-mayonnaise dressing that was so good! I will definitely make it again. It's much healthier than the usual and so good. The only reason it's not 5 stars is that I just don't like cabbage that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Doesn't taste as well with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I will never make traditional mayo based coleslaw again after making this. I followed the recipe to the letter so I can fairly rate the recipe, ok, not true, I added salt and pepper to taste. This recipe is wonderful, a keeper, so thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States