Coleslaw with a Difference! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
While I love the idea of adding salsa to coleslaw, I wasn't entirely pleased with my results. I used Newman's Own Tequila Lime salsa, and tasted the dressing as ingredients were added. I thought it tasted better as just mayonnaise and salsa - the addition of the lemon juice made it too tangy. That could have been because of my choice of salsa, though. I also thought the seasoned salt made it too salty. Next time, I would go with a plain salsa, and a few pinches of assorted spices in place of the seasoned salt. Also, I used the entire 16-oz bag of slaw, and had plenty of dressing. With a little tweaking, I could easily suit this recipe to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fiendishthingy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Very easy to prepare and salsa gave it that extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhona Meyer Stultz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pendleton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I thought it would have been better than it was. Not the tex-mex flavour I expected. Very easy to make and very saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
This recipe was horrible! Too much sauce for all the cabbage in 16 ounces. I'm going to leave it in the fridge for a day or two and see if I change my mind about the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This recipe is fantastic ... and so easy!!! Great for last minute covered dish suppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
This didn't have the kick I expected the salsa to contribute, but the taste was quite good and it was simple and quick to prepare. It drew mixed reviews from the tailgate crowd. Thanks, Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I was dissapointed in this slaw. I was expecting a much more vivid taste...and it turned out rather bland. It was really easy to make since I used pre-shredded cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
The taste is pretty good. It is really quick to make and it is easy to make, does not require a lot of time or a lot of ingredients. I am not sure if children would enjoy the tast of it. I would say that most kids would like it. I give it a good rating because I thought it was great coleslaw with a kick. I added a bit of pepper to mine though to give it some more flavor. Great recipie for a get together or a cook out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
Take a chance - use at least a medium salsa! This is a nice variation on an old standby salad - especially good with grilled meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
I surprised my wife by cooking dinner and I served this as the salad. We both loved it and will make it again. I used "medium" salsa and I should have used "mild" as it was a litte spicy for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States