Coleslaw with a Difference! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I thought I hated coleslaw! I made this for my family one night because they like coleslaw. I decided to try it while I was making it and ended up eating almost the whole bowl... I love this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLDEROSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is yum!! I used homemade pretty spicy salsa. The salsa will make or break this recipe. Pick your fav salsa and make it a few degrees above what you would normally like the heat ;)~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This did not turn out for me. No taste except for the salsa. Needed sugar or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This is fantastic. I've made it several times, using a different salsa each time (the spicy green tomatillo salsa has been my favorite so far). For a twist, I piled some on top of hot dogs in buns. It gave them a great bit of heat and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I was looking for a way to use half of a head of cabbage that had been in my refrigerator, and a recipe without too many ingredients. I thought that this seemed different and interesting, and I wasn't disappointed! I added a carrot (nothing that you wouldn't find in a bag of mix) but also a bit of red onion for a little extra kick, since I wanted a little more color and some reviewers had considered the recipe a bit bland. I used a medium-hot pineapple salsa (Newman's Own) and was pleased with the result. I'll look forward to trying this again with a fresher cabbage, and serving it with something Tex-Mex...a bean tostada or cheese enchilada casserole would probably be really good, though I did enjoy it tonight with some great brisket! Plenty of dressing for the amount of vegetables, it almost reminded me of a slightly spicy, not-as-sweet 1000 Island dressing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Overall it was a very easy recipe ~ which is what I was looking for! It was on the bland side though. I would definitely add more seasonings the next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This was a fast, easy and tasty side dish to go along with the grilled fish tacos that I made for Cinco de Mayo. My husband and boys really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Really good and easy. My husband loved it and already asked me to make it again! I want to tailor the ingrediants slightly so that it doesn't have as much liquid leftover after chilling...but that's my complaint about most coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I thought this was pretty good...but I did modify it a bit to give it a little more oomph...I was using broccoli slaw to begin with and I was out of mayo so I had to use miracle whip...I also added 1/2 cup black beans, 3 cloves garlic (we like garlic :), a little extra olive oil, some fresh cracked pepper and about 2 tbsp fresh chopped cilantro. Will make again...it was great with the Turkey/black bean burgers I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Delicious and very simple. I omitted the lemon juice because I didn't have any on hand, and used fresh cabbage and green onions rather than coleslaw mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States