Colene's Easy Tomato Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I make this soup a ton and my family loves it. It is never the same soup twice - I customized this by sauteeing onions, garlic, sweet peppers and celery (always onions and garlic but whatever else is available at the time) in EVOO. I also use the Asian mixed veggies as I am not a fan of carrots and peas and add these to the pot with the sauteed onions before adding the juice. I have added sausage to the sauteed onions, delish and I have sauteed the onions in some of the tomato juice instead of evoo to make it fat free. A great healthy starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I added 2 packages of mixed veggies, and 2 pinches of oregano. I also added some whipping cream! (appx 1/4? of a cup). The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Very easy! My Husband who has sworn off all veggies (except green beans) couldn't get enough of this! The neighborhood Loved it too! I did double it, and used one spicy V8, and one regular. I also added Canned diced potatoes, (and canned veggies too) and some tiny spiral noodles, onion, Celery seed, and a few of my fave spices. De-Lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cajun Junkie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This soup is very kid friendly. For adults, I'd add garlic and more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Quick and easy. I added Knorr vegetable bullion to the water before adding it to the tomato juice. I also added hamburger meat and used canned vegetables instead of frozen. I used green beans, carrots, corn, potatoes, white kidney beans, and stewed tomatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great base recipe but needs more seasoning. I added extra oregano and salt based on earlier reviews but it still needed something... Also, I was about 1/2 cup short of tomato juice so I added a can of chicken stock (I needed more liquid) in addition to the water the recipe called for. I used a bag of frozen soup vegetables to have more vege variety and added thin egg noddles the last 5-8 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Excellent veggie soup! I used a few more pinches of oregano; cayenne pepper for kick; and lawry's instead of salt. Also used the frozen corn with peppers and onions. Zucchini, broccoli, mixed veggies, and sprinkled in some chopped spinach. Best friend loved it, but he's a "Mikey." My wife, much pickier, also loved it...and she only eats chicken noodle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Very easy,Great base for a good veggie soup.After tasting the recipe as is(except i used fresh veggies) i then made the fallowing changes for our taste's.I added 1 small onion,1 Tbls minced garlic,basil,2 celery stalk's & about 1 1/2 tsp Oregano(total),1 tsp beef soup base, 1/2 tsp celery seed, 2Tbls small ring pasta.1/4 tsp pepper flakes & 1/2 Cup water...because the pasta & fresh veggies soaked up some of the liquid.It was very tasty on a cold rainy Autumn day & with 2 sick kid's at home today it settled in their tummies very nicely :)I will be making this again, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was a really easy and tasty recipe. I substituted spicy bloody mary mix and added 1/2 cup of grated parmesan. Was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
VERY good...I don't like veggie soup, but liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States