Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Great recipe. Very flexible - I adjusted it to work with what I had on hand, and it turned out great! I used apple cider vinegar and olive oil instead of white wine vinegar and vegetable oil. I also used a bag of a pre-shredded slaw mixture so the bell pepper and onion were left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
This is so easy to make.and very good. i well be making this again and again. thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
I made the recipe using cider vinegar, and I skipped the onion and green pepper. I served the slaw with baco-bits sprinkled on top. I thought it was tangy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANDYREHKAMP
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Added some roasted red peppers for color and some poppy seeds. Great - thanks for the posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahoka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I made this cole slaw recipe for a church function and I am still getting compliments on it months later. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salida, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I find the secret to making perfect coleslaw everytime is to put the sugar directly on the cabbage mix for about 10 to 15 minutes before adding the dressing mix then refrigerate and let stand before serving. Also, try additing salted sunflower seeds for an interesting twist your family will love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I have made a cole slaw similar to this for years and everyone loves it. Instead of carrots I used chopped pimento and a little celery seed really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
i love cole slaw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fireminnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I loved it! I just used a bag of shredded cabbage and carrots, and did not use onions or green peppers(prefer cole slaw without them). Oops, I used regular vinegar and it tasted fine! My husband really liked it too (He is very picky)! I only made 1/2 C vinegar, 1/2 C veg. oil and 1/2 C sugar for a 16 oz bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I was thinking I would try to substitute stevia for the white sugar. Stevia is much sweeter than sugar for the same amount, so I'd have to adjust the amount but I need to test it as sometimes stevia works really well in a recipe and other times not so much. If stevia works then the calories would go way down to nothing nearly and you could enjoy a lot more cole slaw - I'll get back to you all with the results of my test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States