Cold Veggie Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
i had something like this once at a party, so I gave it a try for my birthday party. i combined this recipe along with one on the pillsbury crescent roll site, and input from my friend who made the recipe i first tasted. i used a packet of ranch dip mix instead of individual seasonings, next time i will try it the way the recipe was written here. the ranch dip kind of overpowered things. for the vegetables i used finely chopped broccoli florets, cucumber, grape tomatoes, and some finely shredded colbyjack cheese. i also added crumbled bacon - i think adding bacon makes this dish really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
All I can say is WOW WOW WOW! we had guest over last night and none of us was really hungry we just wanted something lol~ This recipe was a perfect appetizer! I was worried about the Mayo I don't know why! the Mayo is what makes this great. You can do so much to this to make it your own. I added parmesan cheese and ranch dressing to the mixture. I chopped the veggies up very fine and mixed them all together. Reading this recipe I thought this seems so plain it must taste so simple. NOPE!! it's spectacularly addicting!! We all ate the whole tray and wanted more. It was so good in fact i'm making more after I write this. You are gonna love these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelshavon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tarawa Terrace, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This is a HIT at parties. Great for vegetarians. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Great! I always get asked for the recipe when I take this somewhere. I skip the basil and garlic powder and just use a package of Ranch dressing mix. I use anywhere from 2 tablespoons to the whole package of Ranch mix. Cover with your favorite veggies. I usually use broccoli, cauliflower, mushrooms, red pepper and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This was a hit. I make this for almost every occasion because it is so easy. It is not overpowering like the ranch version of this pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Herheim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: De Forest, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
delicious...I mixed n matched w/ a few other similare recipes like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
There are 4 on this site that are all similar. 3 of my friends and I had school functions to go to last week and we each tried one for our own school. Every one of them told me the got rave reviews. If you look at the "More Recipes Like This" link on the recipe page you can find the different recipes and chose one to your liking. I especially love the idea of the Irish Flag and am keeping that in mind for my next St. Patty's Day party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeannette
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Festive for a St. Patrick's Day celebration! I arranged the broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots separately to form an Irish flag. -------check out my uploaded photo------- Added finely chopped green pepper to broccoli and orange pepper to carrots for extra flavor, color and texture. Can substitute 3T bottled ranch dressing for mayo and salad seasoning if that's what's on hand. Next time I'll cut into squares before adding veggies, as suggested by previous reviewer, to preserve flag's colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I found it easier to serve this dish if you cut it into sqaures before you put the veggies on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULESR1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
i had these at a party last year and i loved them. byluck i went online , on this website and i found them. i recently had a party of my own and made them, thank god i saved some for myself because they wer gone ina matter of minutes! my compliments to the chef :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Veggie Pizza Squares

Baked crescent roll dough is topped with cream cheese and crunchy vegetables.

Veggie Elbows Mac and Cheese

An easy veggie pasta tossed with okra and a creamy, three-cheese sauce.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States