Cold Tuna Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Pretty good recipe, I doctored it up a bit by combining this recipe's ingredients with those of another tuna macaroni salad recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Honestly, I'm not sure where this recipe went wrong, but I have a hunch. It was SOOO bland! I followed this pretty close, except my pasta box was 14.5 oz instead of 12 and I chopped up only 2 stalks of celery (not a big fan)and added halved grape tomatoes when serving. I had to add a ton of salt and it just never tasted right....So disappointing because I was really excited about eating this. I think it was the mayo. I used light, but it was generic light(GV). Bad move on my part. I think if you just use light mayo-any light mayo, you are in for a disappointment. My tip? Go for a brand that you trust or the full fat :).I'm giving it 3 stars b/c I think if you do that, it has real potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girlmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This is a very good recipe. I gave it 4 stars because I made the following changes: I did not include the Italian dressing and instead used sweet relish and I also do not include the tomatoes until we're ready to eat it (or they get soggy if they sit for too long in the mixture), and I also use two cans of tuna instead of one. Add a little olive oil to the pasta after it's cooked/rinsed/drained. Keeps it moist. Very good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
My husband and I liked this receipe. Only gave it four stars because I couldn't make it as written. Didn't have mayonaise so replaced it with about 2/3 cup sour cream, upped the Italian dressing to 1/4 cup. Also added: lemon pepper, sliced black olives and some chopped red bell pepper. Great light summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Excellent salad - the whole family and our guests loved it. I cut the mayo to one cup and used pickles since I didn't have celery. I made it two days in advance, just adding the tomatoes right before serving, and it was fine. This will be our new favorite pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
this is a very good recipe, tastes great ! I used half light mayo and the other half light sour cream to save on the calories. Was very good ! Thanks a lot !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This recipe was great! I made it for a work potluck and everybody loved it. I left out the tomato because I am not a fan and added crumbled cheddar cheese but that was all that I changed. This is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
good starting point. in place of table salt, i added simply organic all-seasons salt (which consists of sea salt, paprika, cane sugar, garlic, onion, celery, oregano, & tumeric), and used minced shallot for a milder flavor than white or red onion. in the past i have also used less of the all-seasons salt and added a few TBS of ranch dressing. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This is a good salad. I used the mayo made with olive oil, it tastes pretty similar to regular mayo. I had to omit the tomatoes (no raw tomato eaters here!). I added some diced cheddar for some extra flavor, and will add onion next time. The Italian dressing doesn't change the flavor that much. Good summer dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Delicious! I used bow-tie pasta because it was on hand and left out the tomatoes. I had been craving my mom's tuna salad and this is almost spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggixial

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deerfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States