Cold Szechuan Noodles and Shredded Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I had run out of tamari so I used worchestershire and cut way back on the 1/4 C... same with the sesame oil, I'm on a diet! But this is a good quick lunch, and something you can be creative with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Did not care for this and will probably throw most of it away. I made it for my husband and I last night, followed the recipe exactly with all of the correct ingredients. I was also looking for a tasty cold Chinese noodle salad, this wasn't it for us. Didn't care for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This was fabulous Juanita! Didn't have any soba noodles so I subbed with Ramen. Due to allergies, I had to omit the carrots but used matchstick size cucs instead, along with some savoy cabbage. To make it a complete meal, I surrounded the platter with thinly sliced leftover london broil and grilled chicken. I made extra sauce to marinade my chicken in and it came out wonderfully. Absolutely delicious recipe and my family thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
This is good as it is, but the fresh carrots came out too raw. Next time I will blanch them. I didn't have red bellpepper so instead added a cucumber cut into matchstick size just before serving. Fresh cucumber seems to balance out the saltiness of soy sauce. It makes great color contrast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I thought this was good, but my husband did not like the sesame oil flavor. I think it is an acquired taste. If you like sesame oil, you will probably like this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylett, Virginia, USA
Living In: King William, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Not what I expected....I was looking for a really fabulous cold noodle recipe and this wasnt it...I think the potential is there but I threw a huge bowl of this out. I think it was my own fault...I used 1 lb. of extra thin rice noodles instead of the soba noodles. It was my first time making and tasting rice noodles...and I hated the taste of them. My thought is that the recipe would have been better with thin spaghetti. Noone liked it or ate it..into the trash. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This was good. I wasn't able to find soba noodles, but I'll pick some up next time I go to the asian market across town. I added some extra vegetables to the leftovers. This would also be good with some cold sliced chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This is quickly becoming one of my staple recipes. I can make up a recipe and have it in my fridge for lunches. Really yummy, easy, and different from the same old ho hum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
This is delicious!!!! I made the sauce exactly as presented here. The only changes I made to the recipe are that I marinated some finely diced chicken in a little of the sauce and then sauted it and added to the salad and I couldn't find soba noodles so I used fresh shanghai noodles. Great flavours worth finding all the ingredients for. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYMCNAMARA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
In a word: yum! This is an excellent recipe. I love soba noodles, and here their wonderful flavor and texture is enhanced by the delicious marinade. Carrots and red bell peppers add crunch, and the green onions are the perfect finishing touch. I made a batch of this salad last Sunday and took it to school with me for lunch four days in a row, and as the week went on, the flavors melded further and became even richer and tastier. Not only is this delicious, it's quite healthy, too. An all-around winner... I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States