Cold Szechuan Noodles and Shredded Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was WAY better than expected! Important to use the soba noodles to have the proper flavor. YUM!.....update! everytime I make this I am reminded how delicious it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
The soba noodles definitely make the recipe. I followed the recipe almost exactly, with a few tweakings of my own. Omitted the tamari, added in a couple tablespoons of Vietnamese fish sauce and a bag of frozen Asian vegetables -subbed for the red pepper- with some chunks of chicken - it was delicious! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I found this a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
i really enjoyed this recipe except i made a couple of changes. first off, i wouldn't use as much sesame oil next time. i didn't have tamari sauce so based on another review, i used soy sauce mixed with worcestshire sauce. after mixing it with the noodles, i left some sauce aside because i wanted to cook the carrots a bit. i also added organic fried tofu (it had a bit of sezchuan sauce on it). i fried it up using the remainder of the sauce along with some garlic and ginger and the carrots. when it was ready to serve, i just added it to the dish on top rather than mixing the vegetables together (because of the different temperatures). i'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I didn't care too much for this recipe. I followed the instructions exactly but we ended up eating something else. It just had a strange smell and taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Yummy! Very good recipe. I didn't have tamari sauce, so I used a dark mushroom soya sauce instead. Still turned out very well - loved the sesame seed oil! The flavours definitely taste better after sitting for a while - but I didn't bother dividing up the sauce. I just put the whole thing together at the beginning and let it sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Yummy! You can substitute whole wheat spaghetti for the soba.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I enjoyed the flavor of this recipe, but it was a little too oily for me. Next time I will reduce the oil and increase the tamari to add more flavor. Be warned... a pound of soba cooks up to a *lot* of noodles. If you're not sure about this, I suggest trying a half recipe first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I went to Trader Joe's and purchased Soba noodles and did not know what to do with them. So, I went to this web site and typed in soba noodles and this showed up. Well, I made it for my lunch the next day and really enjoyed it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I think its SooOoO important that everyone follows the recipe. If you substitute the main ingredient in this recipe which is the SOBA noodles with reg. Spaghetti noodles, you are making a totally diff. dish. I think people should follow the recipe the 1st time around and tweak if they wish the second time around. Its not fair to the person submitting the recipe to get low ranks if you dont follow their recipe.Specially like using a completly different noodles. Soba is a gray buckwheat noodle that has a very different taste then rice noodles or reg spagehtti noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Hiyashi Chuka Noodles

Japanese-inspired chilled noodle and vegetable salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States