Cold Oven Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Thank you for a great and relatively inexpensive recipe! I have made it three times for petit fours and just as a loaf cake. Everybody who has had it has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I use all butter in this and like to add a little mace. But this is hand down my mom and son's favorite cake. If made in a tube pan, it makes a gorgeous crunchy crust. My mother got this recipe at work many years ago and made it all through my childhood. I have a picky little Papillion pup who isn't a foodie at all, she doesn't even like most dog treats. But when she smells this cake she always wants a bit of it. I do find that I need to bake it about 10 minutes longer than the time in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trzos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Really great pound cake! I used 1 1/2 cups margarine, because I never have shortening on hand, don't know how shortening would make this cake any better...it's pretty perfect the way it was! It filled up my large bundt pan perfectly, and with about the last 2 or 3 cups of batter left, I added some cocoa powder(I didn't measure), and swirled it into the batter in the bundt pan, for a marble effect. Took this pound cake over the top! I served it strawberry shortcake style for dessert, had it the next morning toasted with some homemade strawberry jam. After snacking on it all week long, it kept nice and moist for the 2 of us about a week in an airtight cake carrier. With the few slices left starting to dry out, I made pound cake french toast with homemade strawberry syrup(it's strawberry season here! lol). Thank you Etta for my new go-to recipe for pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Superb, wonderful cake with a beautiful texture inside and out, just what I was looking for! I did make a few changes after reading other posts: butter for the margine, reduced the sugar to 2-1/2 c. using 2 c. white sugar and 1/2 c. brown sugar (I like brown sugar and may try it with all brown sugar next time just to see how it does), increased vanilla to 1 T., and added 1/2 t. salt. In my oven it baked for 1 hour 40 minutes. One commentor had rated it poorly as being "floury tasting." I had baked the cake in the evening for use the next day and after it had cooled completely I had a sample slice and will admit I also thought it tasted floury. However, a sample of it the next morning was completely different, the flavor excellent, so am guessing it just needs to "cure" overnight or for 12 hours or so, and would recommend making it the day or night before it is to be served. This cake needs absolutely nothing else to complete it, just wonderful, and seems to improve with each passing day. We did have it the first day with fresh mixed berries and whipped cream, a la strawberry shortcake, super good. Otherwise it has been eaten slice by slice just as is with an involuntary "ummm" by all, and sure to be finished down to the last crumb, rare for our family of three. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I tried this recipe for a function at my Church. It was s hit! Love the way the top cooks up with a little crunch to it. This time I put almond flavor mixed with vanilla. Awesome! It deserves more than 5 stars! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
My mother is the QUEEN of this cake and now I have inherited it. Things she always tells me: Dont overbeat it, always alternate flour and milk without overbeating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenRB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Very good, very dense pound cake--a good plain cake, excellent with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calumet, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Too sweet never tasted anything like it doesn't taste like a pound cake, not soft like a pound cake! Won't be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
this is the best pound cake i have ever made. i have tried a lot of recipes over the years and this one, by far, is the best. it turns out perfectly; crunchy on top and super moist inside. it stays moist even after you cut it. i love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Very dense and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States