Cold Oven Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
These are so easy to make and so good! Perfect warm with melted butter with a main dish, or with cinnamon and sugar or honey as a dessert. Next time, I will consider adding some flavoring. Wonderful! A terrific change of pace. I don't know why more people don't try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I was nervous making these b/c there is a pricy restaurant we visit every blue moon that makes honey butter popovers...and its the only ones we like. I wanted to duplicate them but was worried if this recipe would be "the one." These turned out great! They were hollow, light and fluffy. I made some honey butter from this site, melted a few TBLS of it and brushed it over the hot popovers. Yeah!! I am very pleased with the result and would make these again! Be sure to grease the muffin pans well! Thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
My husband liked these, I only cooked for 20 minutes, and they were very golden brown. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
Two warnings, about which I should have known better anyway. One be careful not to overcook, two do not use muffin liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
Wow! What a great recipe! I like these with jam as a change of pace for breakfast. I have been making the recipe as 8 larger popovers and they have come out perfectly every time. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
light and crispy, delicate and buttery, perfectly formed and deeee lish! will put in my box of tried and true!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This is the easiest popover recipe I've ever tried, and it's so good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
These were very fast and easy. We added a powdered sugar glaze to them and they tasted a lot like doughnuts. This will definitely become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Excellent!! I loved them. I baked a rib roast, so my oven was hot. Varied the recipe as follows for hot oven...450 degrees for 20 minutes...baked in cold muffin tin lightly greased with butter flavored Pam. I wouldn't heasitate to try in cold oven...perhaps for breakfast treat. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
These tasted excellent and turned out beautifully. I cut the recipe into 1/3 and it made 3 popovers which was the perfect amount for my boyfriend and I since we had lots of other food to eat with it. I debated on making yorkshire pudding or buns to have with my roast beef dinner but I opted to try these instead. What a great idea. They tasted just like yorkshire pudding but not as greasy, yet they were enough like dinner rolls that we didn't need any extra bread with our meal. I tried spreading butter on top as well as dipping in gravy and they were fabulous both ways. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Oven Scrambled Eggs

Discover the secret to making light, fluffy scrambled eggs for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States