Cold Oven Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I was nervous making these b/c there is a pricy restaurant we visit every blue moon that makes honey butter popovers...and its the only ones we like. I wanted to duplicate them but was worried if this recipe would be "the one." These turned out great! They were hollow, light and fluffy. I made some honey butter from this site, melted a few TBLS of it and brushed it over the hot popovers. Yeah!! I am very pleased with the result and would make these again! Be sure to grease the muffin pans well! Thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
These turn out great every time!!! My husband and I love'em!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I've struggled to make just right popovers for years. I had finally given up, until I found this recipe. Turned out beautifully! I like to make the batter in the blender, making it very easy to pour into the muffin cups (but be careful not to overmix). And it's easily scalable to 4 or 8 popovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
If you want what is essentially a pancake in a muffin cup then this recipe is for you. Otherwise, forget it. This recipe WILL NOT give you popovers. More like poopovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I've been making popovers for over 20 years and this is one of the best recipes. I really prefer the cold oven recipes over the other. One thing you just MUST remember about baking popovers: NEVER use the paper liners. The batter must be able to rise up the sides of the muffin cup. A paper liner hinders this. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoyo1198

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
You can't get any easier than this!!! What a great recipe. These popovers were nice and tall and the flavor was perfect. I did check them at 25 minutes and they were done. Thanks for the easiest popover recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
very delicious! Only thing was that they stuck to the muffin liners and they were done at 25 minutes. Made a cinnamon sugar butter spread for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma0517

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Oh my, this is the "lost" recipe! I have been searching for this recipe for years! Quick, simple and so delicious! Thank you so so much for my favorite popover recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Gotta grease the paper cups if you use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
30 minutes is way too long. My husband really liked them even though they were crunchy. I will try again and cook for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Oven Scrambled Eggs

Discover the secret to making light, fluffy scrambled eggs for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States