Cold Oven Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Delicious! Followed the recipe to a t and it turned out great!! Even my picky 3yo ate two!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I never had a popover before, so I was a little nervous baking these. I wasn't sure how the batter was supposed to be, but I just eyeballed it and baked them in 6 ramekins rather than the muffin tins. They were very good served with jam or the "Cinnamon Honey Butter" that I also got from this site. I loved how easy they were to whip up! They are a nice change from your everyday biscut, and I love that they can be served as breakfast, with dinner or as a dessert. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I was nervous making these b/c there is a pricy restaurant we visit every blue moon that makes honey butter popovers...and its the only ones we like. I wanted to duplicate them but was worried if this recipe would be "the one." These turned out great! They were hollow, light and fluffy. I made some honey butter from this site, melted a few TBLS of it and brushed it over the hot popovers. Yeah!! I am very pleased with the result and would make these again! Be sure to grease the muffin pans well! Thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
These tasted excellent and turned out beautifully. I cut the recipe into 1/3 and it made 3 popovers which was the perfect amount for my boyfriend and I since we had lots of other food to eat with it. I debated on making yorkshire pudding or buns to have with my roast beef dinner but I opted to try these instead. What a great idea. They tasted just like yorkshire pudding but not as greasy, yet they were enough like dinner rolls that we didn't need any extra bread with our meal. I tried spreading butter on top as well as dipping in gravy and they were fabulous both ways. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
These popovers were wonderful and easy. They do not come out real large like a restaurant popover. They have more breading on the inside rather than being hollow. Everyone loved them with the honey butter that I whipped up to put on them. Next time I will try maybe doubling the recipe to see if they come out larger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Excellent!! I loved them. I baked a rib roast, so my oven was hot. Varied the recipe as follows for hot oven...450 degrees for 20 minutes...baked in cold muffin tin lightly greased with butter flavored Pam. I wouldn't heasitate to try in cold oven...perhaps for breakfast treat. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
These were very fast and easy. We added a powdered sugar glaze to them and they tasted a lot like doughnuts. This will definitely become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
A terrific, simple recipe. I love popovers and these were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
This is the easiest popover recipe I've ever tried, and it's so good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
light and crispy, delicate and buttery, perfectly formed and deeee lish! will put in my box of tried and true!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Oven Scrambled Eggs

Discover the secret to making light, fluffy scrambled eggs for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States