Cold Macaroni and Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This was a very good starter recipe but it definitely needs a few extra ingredients to make it yummy! I omitted the peas and added diced celery, green onions, cubed cheddar cheese, and sweet relish. It needed a lot of seasoning and I used mayo, horseradish sauce, seasoning salt, garlic salt and pepper. With all the additions it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
We use 1cup dry small shell pasta cooked and drained. Add a couple of dashes of dill weed,salt, pepper, and if desired dry minced onion or onion powder to taste, only one diced egg, 1 stalk of celery thinly sliced,(taste and adjust Mayo and seasonings) 1/2 cup cubed mild cheddar cheese, and 1/2 can drained canned peas..have to fold in gently after it's all mixed well. Refrigerate at least 4 hours or overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
This was a good salad, however it really needs the celery and green onions for texture and flavor. I felt the dressing needed something, so I added 3T of bottled Caesar dressing and a teaspoon of prepared horseradish sauce. Thanks Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
The very basic of all Tuna salad recipes. Try adding some or your own ingredients (ie. celery, onions) to make this recipe complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
This was nothing spectacular, just a very basic macaroni salad recipe. It definitely needs celery for that extra crunch. I added some spices, celery salt, cayenne, and garlic powder to kick it up a bit, as well as a bit of ranch dressing mixed in with the mayo. It was good with the additions, but very basic and bland without them. This recipe needs some work, but it's a good starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Great recipe. I didn't measure the mayo but rather dumped in tablespoons until I got the right consistency. I also added a little milk to make it a little creamier and a little onion adds a little crunch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This is such a quick and easy meal. It definitely needs chopped onion for flavor. I also added a little lemon juice, some curry powder, and shredded cheddar cheese and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
This is good, it was a little dry for my particular taste, but no biggie, I just added a little more mayo. I also used canned chicken breast (Swanson) instead of the tuna to please my picky children. Next time, I'll add some diced green onion. Thanks for sharing Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
"Good" and basic cold pasta salad. My boyfriend wouldn't touch it - he's not a huge fan of tuna but everyone else seemed to enjoy it. I used miracle whip instead of mayo (and added to taste). Also, I added a jar of diced pimentos for color and some chopped celery for some crunch. A good side to our homemade sub sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This was a great starter recipe. I added green onions and celery for flavor and crunch, and just a bit of garlic salt. Use enough mayo for the consistency you want - not an exact science. I found out the hard way that it's better to use smaller noodles! Mini-shells or rings work best. A tip for eggs if you're not a seasoned veteran: Use older eggs (they're easier to peel), put them in cold water, then put the pot with the eggs on the stove. Once it boils, simmer 1 minute, cover, and remove from heat. Let sit 15 minutes then put them in cold water to stop cooking. You can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States