Cold Macaroni and Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I know a lot of people have issues with folks reviewing after modifications, but that's what I'm doing. :-) I used two eggs instead of one, discarding the yolks (don't need the extra cholesterol). I used only one package of tuna. I added one stalk of celery, and a bit of onion -- both chopped. I put my frozen peas in the colander, and drain the pasta right over them. This elimanates a step. For the dressing, I used about half reduced fat Miracle Whip, and half reduced fat sour cream. I'm not a big fan of Miracle Whip, but I find I prefer it to mayo for most salads. I increased the overall quantity, because I don't like a dry macaroni salad. I added a little milk, to add moisture, and some zesty Italian dressing until it tasted right to me. I completely eliminated the extra salt and pepper. Lots of modifications, I know. But I appreciate the original recipe, because it is a good basic recipe and versatile enough to accept everyone's changes. I'll try this again, and I'll probably try other changes based on my family's comments. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
good basis to start from...I added green onion, green bell pepper & cayanne pepper & doubled the mayo. enjoyed the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This was really good. I added chopped onions and omitted the peas. Makes a nice lunch or light supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This was a good recipe but I did add lettuce and diced tomatoes. Omitted the peas since my husband doesn't like them. It ended up really good we couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Killingly, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
great, quick and easy recipe...I also just made a few additions of my own...I used frozen peas and carrots instead, added fresh thyme and dried parsley, onion, green onion, garlic powder and adobo...tasted great!! thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
this is a good recipe...BUT then after the first few times i swapped out the peas for diced klausen pickles and chopped celery. also, use elbow macaroni. classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi Sturgess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is the simple tuna/mac I've been looking for. I took the submitters suggestions with the extras of onion and celery. I took a reviewers suggestion of dill and added some dill relish. I also added a bit of other salad dressings to the mayo (ranch, other). I just finished my first bowl. Very good, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I am a novice cooker and I was so proud of myself for making this. I used some of the other reviewers' suggestions like onions and celery and seasoning salt and garlic powder. I liked it alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
easy and tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States