Cold Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was tasty and oh so easy. I added some yellow and orange bell pepper as well as some sliced cucumber along with the onions and green beans. I didn't add the entire bottle of dressing I just added enough to kinda cover and shook them around every couple of hours. I let it sit for about 10 hours. Family enjoyed it and its soooo easy I will be making it again. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Did not like this recipe. Family wouldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
You'll like it even better if you add: - 1 tablespoon of sugar to the Italian dressing, and - 1 can of sliced water chestnuts. The additions turn it into a 5-star recipe, in my opinion. I also make it with a can each of green and wax beans for a little more interest. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was very good and everyone really liked it. Although, I did NOT use canned green beans. To make it more healthy I used frozen beans and steamed them in a small amount of water, then placed them in a serving bowl and added the rest. I also make my own Italian salad dressing: 1/2 c. olive oil, 1/4 cup balsamic/apple vinegar mixed; then I add to taste garlic powder, salt, pepper, oregano, and basil. I took this to a friend's house for lunch and everyone (even my children) commented on how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maribor, Štajerska, Slovenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
You have to like canned green beans to like this recipe. The texture was unappealing--I guess I thought the dressing would perk it up/disguise it. But I was wrong. NO ONE at my gathering liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Rinse cans of green beans, always. It really makes a better difference in the taste! Takes the can taste out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years...try adding halved cherry or grape tomatoes and serve with hard crust Italian bread. Better made the day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was alright. My daughter loved it. I let it marinade for 5 hours, and it tasted rather bland to me. I used Kraft Zesty Italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this for Christmas dinner, and it was good, but not the best vegetable side dish ever. 1 bottle of dressing is WAY too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
It was a bit hit at the family reunion. I used a can of regular green bean and a can of wax beans for a bit more color. I also substituted Newman's Own Low Fat Sesame Ginger Dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrington, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States