Cold Day Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This is my absolute favorite chili, it is mild but still very flavorful. I went with pinto and black beans instead of kidney, used a horseradish deli mustard and apple cider vinegar, increased to a full cup of water, and added 1 small can of tomato sauce and 1 small can of tomato paste. With the extra liquid I got away with doing an extra can of beans so I had to of each, too. I also like to cook it for at least a half an hour, chili will always get better the longer you cook it. I live with someone who needs to eat the smallest amount of salt possible, the less the better, and this has really made it hard to find things to eat that aren't bland. Now that I've found beans and tomato sauce that are low sodium and no added salt, we can eat this chili, and it is really fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Loved the sliced onion concept instead of the boring old diced. I added 3 cups of water...(hoping the 1/2 cup in the recipe was a typo.) Definitely would have burned to the bottom of the pan. I added a green bell pepper to the pot as well. What the heck, why not. If you want it a little bit thicker, mix about a tbs. of cornstarch to about 1/4 cup water and whisk together. Pour in last 10 minutes of cooking time. Overall, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Loved this chili..added some minced garlic and some cumin...happy to have found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
OMG!!! This is our new favorite chili recipe. This recipe is a great basic recipe to fashion to your own tastes. I doubled it and used 2 pounds ground chicken(turkey would be good too) since I don't eat beef. I used a 16 oz can tomato sauce instead of water, added minced garlic to the chicken as it was browning. I didn't have kidney beans on hand so used one can white beans and one can great northern beans(any kind of beans would do), one can fire roasted diced tomatoes and one can mexican sytle stewed tomates with chilies. I simmered on the stove top on low for 3 hours. I should have watched closer and added chicken broth or water as the sauce kind of cooked off, but it had outstanding flavor. The mexican tomatoes added just a touch of heat and the brown sugar added just a hint of sweetness. I think you can adjust the flavors to your personal likeness or change the recipe in alot of ways to keep it interesting. I think you could throw it all in the slow cooker and cook on low for 8 hours or high for 3 hours. Thank you so much for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Made exactly as written, excellent flavor, and very easy recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
loved this recipe its exactly what i was looking for i did make one change i added a whole pkg of chili powder only cause we like it chili tasting other then that perfect thickness and definitly making this again for the 4th of july Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I added a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes, and used (2) cans of chili beans, in place of the kidney beans, and let it simmer for 2-3 hours. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Great taste- very quick to throw together - just cook it longer than 10 minutes (I cooked it for almost an hour). This improves the flavor as those somewhat unusual chili ingredients blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Reese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
It was really liquid when it was fresh, leftovers werent as bad. I used one can of seasoned kidney beans and one can of Bush's chili beans (mild). Added a little bit of garlic powder and onion powder. The flavor was good and it was super simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
We had second helpings! The vinegar/brown sugar/mustard give a good flavor. It's different from other chili recipes. It's fast, easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States