Cold Cocoa Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
I used chocolate creme sandwich cookies and chocolate ice cream. The results were tasty, but far too "liquidy". Perhaps more ice cream could be used to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Uh...isn't this just a...milkshake?? That's what it's called where I come from. Too much milk as written - makes it way too liquid. Cut milk back by about half and you should have just about the right texture...for either a milkshake or a "smoothie."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This was kind of a disaster. I think if I were to play with the recipe, it could be good but as is.......noone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I used frozen light fat-free cool whip, non-fat milk and splenda to make this healthier. It worked and was pretty delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Great tasting recipe, although I made a few minor adjustments due to what I had on hand. I subbed dutch pressed cocoa powder for instant hot cocoa mix since I don't buy instant hot cocoa. Also I reduced the milk to 1 cup because I didn't want it to be too liquid like and I increased the whipped cream to 1/2 cup. I used homemade vanilla ice cream and homemade whipped cream in this recipe instead of store bought. It served two and had excellent flavor. Great to dip Oreo cookies into just as you would with a glass of milk. By looking at the ingredients this is more of a liquid milkshake than a smoothie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
The recipe wasn't bad, but it also wasn't a "smoothie" either. It tasted more like really cold malted milk. However, it did taste better than I expected. I did 1/2 the recipe and it filled a sundae style glass. I used half and half in replace of the little bit of whipping cream. After I mixed it I realized the recipe called for cookies. I didn't add them, but it wouldn't have changed the texture of the milk part. I topped with chocolate whipped cream and garnished it with chocolate sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Oh man! I'm sipping this now enjoying this treat. My husband asked for one too after seeing mine. Great way to use up hot cocoa mix I had sitting in the pantry. I didn't have whipped cream so I used whipped topping and it was still great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Based on the recipe I'm only giving this 4 stars because it was very thin. It is just a milkshake, and I just added more ice cream to thicken it up. That said, this is delicious! I have a ton of hot chocolate mix in my cabinet that my mom keeps sending me. This is a great way to use it up! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bttrflybabydoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and the result was delicious! Since the recipe doesn't specify whole fat anything, I used fat free ice cream, milk, and sugar free chocolate mix. It was a little liquidy like iheartnitz wrote, but I liked the tesxture, and probably can make it thicker by adding ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Dannon Oikos Sweet Summer Smoothie

Fruit blended with creamy yogurt and cold milk makes a refreshing summer snack.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States