Cold Cherry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
This was very nice and very similar to the chilled strawberry soup in taste. I used dark sweet cherries (only kind that the store had) and added a bit more sugar during the boiling stage. Also instead of folding in the whole cherries after the sour cream, I poured everything into a food processor and pureed it all. Added a little heavy whipping cream to make it a bit smoother. Would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
I have a recipe that is similar to this one - it is a hungarian soup. In ours there is no lemon juice and less sugar and we bundle whole cloves in and let it simmer as the cherries cook. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
The recipie is ok with a couple of small changes. My German Grandmother used to make Cold Cherry Soup, but we ate it with Farina/Semolina pudding or vanilla sauce not sour cream. This recipie can also be made with fresh cherries instead of canned. Just omit the cornstarch add more water up to the level of the cherries in the pot, more sugar to taste and zest from the lemon as well as juice from one lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
I would make this again, but watch out for too much lemon juice. Doubled the recipe, but found that 1/4 cup made the soup way too tart! Also added a cinnamon stick to the boiling mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
great soup! I loved this with fresh tart cherries. Added a little white wine as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarence, New York, USA
Living In: Walworth, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I love cold soups in the summer and this was terriffic! My guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
The sour cream is just enough zing to keep the sweet in check
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
The soup turned out pretty good, though it's much more like a yogurt. I took some of the other reviewer's advice and used twice the sugar and half the sour cream and also put the cherries through the food processor. Would be good alongside crepes for a 'fancy' breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
As another reviewer said, this recipe tastes way to much like sour cream. I also added about another tablespoon and a half of sugar. I followed the recipe exact except I put my cherries through the food processor for a couple pulses since they were quite large. I went to a B&B a couple years ago that served a cold cherry soup for breakfst and I've never tried to make it myself. I was hoping this would be something similar. I know the soup I had the B&B owner used fresh sweet cherries. I'll chalk this one up and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
i followed the recipe exactly, and it tasted wayyyyy too much like sour cream... adding more sugar helped some, but it still was not as good as other fruit soup recipes on here. i will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States