Cold Cherry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Disappointing. Tasted like cherry yogourt. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
My husband had a cold cherry soup on a cruise we went on and loved it. He's been begging me to make it for him so I tried this recipe today. I used fresh sweet cherries (they are in season and we don't like tart cherries) I ended up using about 2 cups of pitted cherries and cooked them with just enough water to cover them with no cornstarch like amy suggested. I also added a stick of cinnamon when I was boiling and a dash of chopped cloves. Cooked it for about 15 minutes on the stove (took out the cinnamon stick) and then pureed it with 1/2 a cup of sour cream 1 tablespoon lemon juice and 1 1/2 tbls sugar. Its not a thick soup this way but it tastes fantastic! Next time I try it I might add the cornstarch just to thicken it up a bit but I think my husband is going to love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaUber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I love cold soups in the summer and this was terriffic! My guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
The sour cream is just enough zing to keep the sweet in check
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
The recipie is ok with a couple of small changes. My German Grandmother used to make Cold Cherry Soup, but we ate it with Farina/Semolina pudding or vanilla sauce not sour cream. This recipie can also be made with fresh cherries instead of canned. Just omit the cornstarch add more water up to the level of the cherries in the pot, more sugar to taste and zest from the lemon as well as juice from one lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
The soup turned out pretty good, though it's much more like a yogurt. I took some of the other reviewer's advice and used twice the sugar and half the sour cream and also put the cherries through the food processor. Would be good alongside crepes for a 'fancy' breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
As another reviewer said, this recipe tastes way to much like sour cream. I also added about another tablespoon and a half of sugar. I followed the recipe exact except I put my cherries through the food processor for a couple pulses since they were quite large. I went to a B&B a couple years ago that served a cold cherry soup for breakfst and I've never tried to make it myself. I was hoping this would be something similar. I know the soup I had the B&B owner used fresh sweet cherries. I'll chalk this one up and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
i followed the recipe exactly, and it tasted wayyyyy too much like sour cream... adding more sugar helped some, but it still was not as good as other fruit soup recipes on here. i will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I have never tried a cold fruit soup before, but now I am glad I did. The taste was excellent, but next time I think I will chop the cherries in halves or quarters because mine were rather big. Will keep this on hand for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
My boyfirend is Hungarian and wanted something like his mother used to make-- it's almost right. I used cherry pie filling, I think it should just be canned cherries in juice. I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States