Cold-Busting Ginger Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mandiilladydon
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I don't know if I did something wrong but my mother didn't like it. Decided to make cause she had a cold. And I drained the first set of ingredients and added potatoes at the end. She said it had a rubbery taste to it. She just drank the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This was a great tasting soup, especially when one has a cold. Every time one of my kids has a cold, I make chicken soup. Saw this one while browsing today and thought it would be a perfect cold-buster. Not only did both of my kids (sick) love it and eat multiple helpings, my husband and I (healthy) thought it was awesome too. I did scale back the ginger and garlic by not adding it at the end because I figured my daughter wouldn't appreciate it - she did say it was a little ginger strong - but I thought a bit more would have been a perfect finish. One thing I changed was I used 2/3 chicken "Better than Bullion" and 1/3 beef "Better than Bullion" because it was what I had on hand. Still was quite tasty and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Son had a cold. Found this and made it. Huge family hit. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This soup is awesome! My entire family loved it! I made only a few changes: did not use kohlrabi as my grocer did not carry it, used Demerara sugar in place of white sugar, and I substituted Chicken Broth for the bouillon and water. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
A rare, beautiful, perfect-as-is recipe. I use raw honey in place of sugar and greatly increase the amount of ginger and garlic added at the end, but those are personal preferences, not necessities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Truly phenomenal tasting soup. I use chicken thighs and strain the whole thing after the chicken is done, before adding in the final vegetables. Perfection! The best medicine you'll ever taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This was better the first time I made it; but this time it was too lemony. I will reduce the lemon next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie
Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Did not particularly care for the combination of ginger with thyme and rosemary. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabyChops

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Absolutely loved this soup! I added shredded cabbage, thighs instead of breasts and four kaffir lime leaves. If I had cold symptoms, they're gone now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
As far as chicken soup goes, this is one of the best I've ever tasted. Normally I feel like chicken soup is either much too bland and watery, or way too salty. This one isn't salty at all but instead has a nice, fairly powerful ginger and rosemary flavor. The recipe as written makes a huge batch of soup. My husband and I each had a bowl for dinner, my baby had a baby-sized bowl, I froze half of the remaining batch in ice cube trays to serve my son for lunch in the future, and there is still plenty for at least a day or two of lunches for me and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States