Cold-Busting Ginger Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I liked the flavor the ginger added and the soup in general felt healthy (I'm currently battling a cold). I did find the soup had a bit too much lemon, so I might cut that down next time. That said, I've never put lemon in soup and did like what it added to the soup. Would definitely make this again. I made the following changes: I halved the recipe, used chicken thighs (with bones as my mom says the bones add flavor to the soup) instead of breasts, used black pepper instead of peppercorns, omitted the celery, kohlrabi, herbs, and noodles, added paprika and cumin, didn't remove the garlic (I did slice it before adding to the soup), and let it simmer for about 2 hours total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsera713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallandale, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
So delicious! Used about 5 cubes and then used a soup mix as well for more flavor. Added hot sauce too. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren Hellekson
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Perfect! I didn't add the celery, not a big fan. I also doubled the chicken and used roasted minced garlic!! The ginger is perfect and not at all overwhelming, doubling the chicken and the noodles made this a hearty main dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Hellekson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Fantastic recipe!!! I loved it!!!The only modification I made is i did not use olive oil, in my opinion it ruins the taste of the chicken soup. I used a small amount of chicken broth instead or butter. I also cook the noodles separate and add them as I serve the soup, otherwise the noodles soak up a lot of liquid. Some times instead of noodles I add matzo balls, which I cook in advance, using matzo ball package instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
The wine, lemon, and probably the ginger too, is just too overpowering. I couldn't taste anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolshmarol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Definitely one of the most delicious soups I've ever prepared! I left out the kohlrabi, but stuck to the recipe other than tweaking the spices to my preference. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Made this for my sick husband who absolutely loved it. I used a rotisserie chicken instead starting with raw chicken breasts, but everything else was the same as the recipe. He said his cold symptoms seemed to subside enough to be able to fall asleep. He had some for breakfast the next day and said it tasted even better than the day before. I highly recommend for the sick and the healthy. Very tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandiilladydon
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I don't know if I did something wrong but my mother didn't like it. Decided to make cause she had a cold. And I drained the first set of ingredients and added potatoes at the end. She said it had a rubbery taste to it. She just drank the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This was a great tasting soup, especially when one has a cold. Every time one of my kids has a cold, I make chicken soup. Saw this one while browsing today and thought it would be a perfect cold-buster. Not only did both of my kids (sick) love it and eat multiple helpings, my husband and I (healthy) thought it was awesome too. I did scale back the ginger and garlic by not adding it at the end because I figured my daughter wouldn't appreciate it - she did say it was a little ginger strong - but I thought a bit more would have been a perfect finish. One thing I changed was I used 2/3 chicken "Better than Bullion" and 1/3 beef "Better than Bullion" because it was what I had on hand. Still was quite tasty and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Son had a cold. Found this and made it. Huge family hit. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States