Cold Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
The ingredients in this salad were a really wonderful blend with the EXCEPTION of the vinegar...the vinegar was so overpowering that it was borderline impossible to enjoy the dish overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Perfect salad for a really hot day. We hit 93 today ( Washington State) and we're not used to heat. Perfect combo with the vinegar and chili. Went fantastically with a side of fresh crab and Penn Cove Mussels. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Excellent. The 3 serrano peppers were just fine for my taste. Used red wine vinegar because I was out of white wine vinegar and it still came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I love this salad. It is fresh tasting and healthy and makes a great side dish. It's a unique way of using beans if you're not in the mood for baked beans, etc. I like the tanginess of the tomato and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pfafftown, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Very good!! Used jalapenos as my spicey pepper and we ate it as a dip with chips, as well as a side dish. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very good, very simple. Had this last night as a side, and now it's perfect to bring to work for lunch. Tastes even better today too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, California, USA
Living In: Banning, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This was so good, I added corn, cilantro, onion, and lime jucie to mine!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
loved this exactly as written. made it to take to my mother-in-law's house and had to fight the urge to eat half of it before leaving. the kids weren't wild about it, obviously, but the grownups literally cleaned out the bowl with hunks of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
The husband and I love this dish. We make all the time. The flavors are fresh and tangy. You can make it super hot for the spicy lovers or you can tone it down for the tender tongues. I top the salad with cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggixial

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deerfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I had to really work with this. If prepared as the recipe stands it has a few problems, at least for me, but they were easily remedied. First, three serrano peppers is a LOT of peppers, particular if they happen to be really hot (mine were) - so I significantly cut back on them so that they acted more as seasoning, and I filled the gap with green bell pepper. Vegetable oil didn't appeal to me, nor did the ratio of vinegar to oil. I used olive oil and white wine vinegar in a ratio of 3:1 instead. Finally, salt alone was not enough to season this, but again, it was easy enough to add some cumin and garlic powder. Kind of blah and too tangy as written, excellent (five stars in my view!) with a little tinkering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States