Cold Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
So great! I added some corn and cilantro--what a refreshing salad! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
This was great! I have to say I didn't have serrano peppers, but I used chipotle instead and it was delicious. I also added a green chile pepper, for color. Thanks Lindalu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I had to really work with this. If prepared as the recipe stands it has a few problems, at least for me, but they were easily remedied. First, three serrano peppers is a LOT of peppers, particular if they happen to be really hot (mine were) - so I significantly cut back on them so that they acted more as seasoning, and I filled the gap with green bell pepper. Vegetable oil didn't appeal to me, nor did the ratio of vinegar to oil. I used olive oil and white wine vinegar in a ratio of 3:1 instead. Finally, salt alone was not enough to season this, but again, it was easy enough to add some cumin and garlic powder. Kind of blah and too tangy as written, excellent (five stars in my view!) with a little tinkering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
So easy and delicious! I didn’t have fresh tomatoes so used one can Rotel and one can no salt diced tomatoes, both drained. I served it with avocado slices and a spoonful of sour cream on top! We are limiting meat so this was a great main dish along with a green salad, and the second night I served it on top of the greens. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Loved this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEVE50613

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Excellent recipe! Try adding corn, cilantro, and fresh lime juice for a nice variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
The husband and I love this dish. We make all the time. The flavors are fresh and tangy. You can make it super hot for the spicy lovers or you can tone it down for the tender tongues. I top the salad with cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggixial

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deerfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Delicious! Love using my pantry items! I added some kernel Corn and tiny pinch of cinn. and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I make a salad very similar to this, only it includes corn kernels, green onions and cilantro also. It is also lower fat as it only has lemon or lime juice, no oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
loved this exactly as written. made it to take to my mother-in-law's house and had to fight the urge to eat half of it before leaving. the kids weren't wild about it, obviously, but the grownups literally cleaned out the bowl with hunks of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States