Cold Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
This was great! I have to say I didn't have serrano peppers, but I used chipotle instead and it was delicious. I also added a green chile pepper, for color. Thanks Lindalu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Loved this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEVE50613

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
So great! I added some corn and cilantro--what a refreshing salad! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Delicious! Love using my pantry items! I added some kernel Corn and tiny pinch of cinn. and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
this was just okay for us. We just must not be beans and vinegar kinds of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I really love this recipe - my husband's grandma makes something just like it and I keep forgetting to ask for her recipe. I like the plain oil and vinegar a little more than the prepared salad dressing on some of the other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLJ6
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This was really good. I added 2 leftover ears of white corn, removed from the cob. One can of Rotel tomatoes with jalepenos, a whole lime juiced and only 1 tblspn of evoo. I sprinkled ancho chili powder, cayenne, and cumin on mine. Nice flavors, will add cilantro next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I added some habeneros for a bit more kick and substituted a splash of sesame oil for one of the vegetable oil Tbsp. Tasted fresh and full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemahieu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
So easy and delicious! I didn’t have fresh tomatoes so used one can Rotel and one can no salt diced tomatoes, both drained. I served it with avocado slices and a spoonful of sour cream on top! We are limiting meat so this was a great main dish along with a green salad, and the second night I served it on top of the greens. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I make a salad very similar to this, only it includes corn kernels, green onions and cilantro also. It is also lower fat as it only has lemon or lime juice, no oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States