Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
My Irish relattives in Gorey, tell me that this dish is traditionally only made at Halloween, but of course if it is good then anytime you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I make it using cauliflower instead of potatoes to reduce carbs for diabetics in the house. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Fleming

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I tried this, but as a last-minute addition to a meal, and had to make several modifications. I had no cabbage, but used Brussels Sprouts; I also ran out of milk, so the leeks were simply boiled in water. Still came out very tasty - I plan on trying this more in keeping with the recipe to compare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grady R Patterson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Great recipe! I made this for my Brazilian family who rarely try "ethnic" foods. They loved it and have requested it at family meals many times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Another way to veg up the dinner. My wife and I both enjoy this recipe as an alternative to plain mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Wow - mashed potatoes times 10. I took some of the reviewers' suggestions and fried up my cabbage in bacon grease, and then added the crumbled bacon in at the end. This was SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Delicious! A hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Unique and delicious. However, it did not turn any shade of green. I sautéed the cabbage and some onion adding kale at the end for more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This recipe was VERY bland on it's own. Also, the proportions of milk are wrong. I used 1 c as directed in the recipe and my dish was almost soup. I have to added some cooked oatmeal to firm it up some. Also, I REALLY had to doctor it up to make it good. I added a pouch of white gravy mix, lots of nutmeg (in place of mace), and Bragg's Liquid Aminos (which is a flavoring for many things). It tasted decent after doctoring it up but it was a bit unsightly as a mashed mess. It wasn't worth the large number of dishes it required to prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States