Colcannon Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I have made another verson of this that has no cheese but has the addition of shreaded ham. The ham takes it to a whole other level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Great idea and a tasty dish. I used kale, and the store didn't have leeks so I used green onions. I added shredded cheese to the potato mixture, and because I was short on time and needed to get dinner on the table, I used frozen mashed potatoes. I omitted the butter and milk as the potatoes already contained them. The end result was a hit, and Next time I'll try with cabbage and fresh potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Great recipe! I used 2 bags of shredded hashbrowns instead of mashed potatoes. Chopped medium head of cabbage with 4 leeks, sauteed in olive oil with salt till tender. Combined with uncooked hash browns and other ingredients (except bouillon because I had none ) added some garlic powder and paprika. I put cheese inside the mixture, added some extra on top at the end of baking. Went well with pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I made this for St. Patty's day and we really enjoyed it. So now I know I'm a leek fan! The only change I made was adding bacon, but next time I think I'll do cornbeef or ham. To me it fit better as a brunch dish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Frugal food at its finest! ... I used leftover mashed potatoes, a quarter head of cabbage that had been sitting in the fridge for 2 months, the green top part of leeks that I had leftover from another dish, and bacon strips left over from last week's breakfast. (plus the other ingredients). Almost all from leftovers, and it STILL tasted terrific! You really can't go wrong with this one :-) Thanks so much for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made it for an St. Patrick's Day party and almost all of it went - I did a triple batch. Went over really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Easy to make and very good. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I doubled this and took it to a St Patty's Day Potluck, and it was a huge hit! 4 people asked for the recipe. I left out the leeks, but other than that followed it exactly. I made it up the night before, then baked it just before the party. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Tried this one for St. Patties day and am SO glad I did! YUMMM! I will definitely make this again~often! Followed the recipe (except didn't use leeks)...used about 10-12 red potatoes and a med size head of cabbage, (+generous salt & pepper). Even took some leftovers to work today and was a hit! Can't wait to try with bacon next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Turned out very good, with a nice flavor. I used 5 large potatoes (Costco size), and also put 5 crushed garlic cloves in with the potatoes. Next time I think I will add some bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommato2loves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States