Colcannon Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Wonderful to see a Colcannon recipe! I have been making it for my family for well over 30 years after learning it in the kitchen of my great grandmother, a first generation Irish American. Hers always had Irish bacon and years later I substituted corned beef as a way to use my St. Patrick's day leftovers. Now I make 2-3 times more than is necessary for our St. Paddy's day dinner so that we can have homemade corned beef hash and colcannon from the leftovers. I gave this recipe 4 stars because the authentic dish includes bacon which gives a whole mother flavor dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
what a great dish and such a hit in mine and my sisters home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Very yummy, although I did add 1/2 lb of bacon so that made for a very fattening dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
We LOVE LOVE LOVE this! Made this last night for the two of us and we are looking forward to having the leftovers tonight! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Yum, yum, yum! We're Scottish, not Irish, but we loved this anyway. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyTiger3m

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Absolutely fabulous! I added some chopped ham at the end, a little paprika and garlic powder. Replaced mashed taters with frozen hashbrowns like other reviewers said, and skipped on the boullion. Also used scallions cuz that's what I had on hand. SOOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I have made another verson of this that has no cheese but has the addition of shreaded ham. The ham takes it to a whole other level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Great idea and a tasty dish. I used kale, and the store didn't have leeks so I used green onions. I added shredded cheese to the potato mixture, and because I was short on time and needed to get dinner on the table, I used frozen mashed potatoes. I omitted the butter and milk as the potatoes already contained them. The end result was a hit, and Next time I'll try with cabbage and fresh potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Great recipe! I used 2 bags of shredded hashbrowns instead of mashed potatoes. Chopped medium head of cabbage with 4 leeks, sauteed in olive oil with salt till tender. Combined with uncooked hash browns and other ingredients (except bouillon because I had none ) added some garlic powder and paprika. I put cheese inside the mixture, added some extra on top at the end of baking. Went well with pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I made this for St. Patty's day and we really enjoyed it. So now I know I'm a leek fan! The only change I made was adding bacon, but next time I think I'll do cornbeef or ham. To me it fit better as a brunch dish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States