Colcannon Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was really good and a hit on St. Patricks Day with corned beef. I didn't use as much butter as it called for, I used about 1 T. for potatoes and one T. for cabbage and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This turned out be the best St. Patrick's Day, food wise, EVER!!!! The colcannon turned out awesome. Best way to use cabbage we ever tasted. Also used the Corned Beef Sandwich recipe from this site using 2 cans of beer, peppercorns, garlic, bay leaves and a little water in the slow cooker. Cooked some carrots in the corned beef water while the beef was resting and, well, just plain perfection. Glad I doubled the corned beef and colcannon......leftovers.....YIPPEE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Made this today - not a fan - found it to be dry (even though I added more milk and sour cream) and too strong of an onion flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
It was a hit at our couple's get together. I made it with 3 pounds of potatoes, 6 cups of shredded cabbage and only 3 tablespoons of butter. Keep all the other ingredients the same. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Wonderful to see a Colcannon recipe! I have been making it for my family for well over 30 years after learning it in the kitchen of my great grandmother, a first generation Irish American. Hers always had Irish bacon and years later I substituted corned beef as a way to use my St. Patrick's day leftovers. Now I make 2-3 times more than is necessary for our St. Paddy's day dinner so that we can have homemade corned beef hash and colcannon from the leftovers. I gave this recipe 4 stars because the authentic dish includes bacon which gives a whole mother flavor dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
what a great dish and such a hit in mine and my sisters home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Very yummy, although I did add 1/2 lb of bacon so that made for a very fattening dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
We LOVE LOVE LOVE this! Made this last night for the two of us and we are looking forward to having the leftovers tonight! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Yum, yum, yum! We're Scottish, not Irish, but we loved this anyway. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyTiger3m

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Absolutely fabulous! I added some chopped ham at the end, a little paprika and garlic powder. Replaced mashed taters with frozen hashbrowns like other reviewers said, and skipped on the boullion. Also used scallions cuz that's what I had on hand. SOOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States