Colcannon Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Nice change of pace. Tastes great and adds flavor to otherwise bla potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I was a little confused about the recipe calling for 3 potatoes? Maybe it turned out so dry because I used a couple more? 3 wouldn't have fed 8 people. At the end of the day, except for the ol' raw egg debate you could get away without even baking this. Suppose that would defeat the purpose of the name. Sorry, this just wasn't my favourite colcannon recipe. Glad I tried it though. Thanks Chardonnay Queen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
A great hearty casserole. I used pre-packaged shredded cabbage, which cut down on some of the prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was delicious!!! Thumbs up by the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This recipe was so awesome my Irish husband said it was the best cabbage he ever had!! I didn't add the leeks and I didn't shred the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Delicious!!! I added green garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Great recipe. I am a huge fan of leeks and potatoes. Whenever I can combine them in a recipe, I do. I made this exactly as directed (which is the only way that you should if you are to review it) and thought it was outstanding. Change nothing and keep up the awesome meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This will be my healthier alternative to scalloped potatoes. I had some left over ham and added maybe 1/2 cup of it to the recipe, used small red potatoes with the skins on for more nutrition & color, and used a coleslaw/carrot ready mix. Also used vegetable broth because I had it on hand & it enabled me to cut down on the butter. It was very colorful & a bit healthier with these changes - but as I stated in the beginning, this turned into an alternative to scalloped potatoes. I will follow the directions "as is" for the next Irish meal that I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Everyone loved this. Great recipe to make ahead of time and pop in the oven for dinner. Went terrific as is with the corned beef. Next time I make it I will add ham and bacon to make it a complete meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Munson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was a great side with corned beef today for Paddy's Day. I did make a few changes. I used about 6 med.-large potatoes and about 1/2 cup of warm milk. I also omitted the bouillon cubes as I used some bacon instead for some great flavor. While the potatoes were cooking, I fried up about 1/2 lb of bacon and used some reserved bacon grease to saute the sweet onion and shredded cabbage. After 40 minutes bake time, I sprinkled the bacon and topped with cheese for the last 10 minutes. I did find it slightly dry and will add more cream next time. Even cabbage haters will enjoy this! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States