Cola Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was so delicious - I put two cans Frank's sweet sauerkraut, 3# country ribs, about 12/15 little red potatoes, a large onion, and a can of Coke - left it for about 8 hours on low in the crockpot - Oh, yum yum - everything was so good! Can't wait to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I stumbled on to this recipe and was hesitant at first, but this is a great way to make sauerkraut!! Before I would fry it like my Mom did with onions and a little garlic then I added some brown sugar to it or I would bake it with the pork roast, but this recipe beats the other ways by far! So simple and has a great taste, my husband really goes "bananas" when I make this with pork roast!! The flavor is just great! This recipe replaces Mom's. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EQUILDOTTSIN
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Reminds me of growing up and having sauerkraut and weiners :-) ... only better. The butter and onions were the real kicker. I also threw in a dash of balsamic vinegar, 2 tblsp brown sugar, and a polish sausage cut into 1/2" slices. Wonderful blend of sweet and tangy. Great one-dish meal served with warm pumpernickel bread and sweet honey butter. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
Great side dish for pork dinners! Much more interesting and tasty than plain saurekraut. It was a big hit in my household - and very easy to prepare. To cut down on calories I used half the amount of butter indicated and it didn't seem to make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Mmmmmm good! I made this in our slow cooker with a couple modifications: Drained the sauerkraut, added a 12 oz. package of fresh mushrooms quartered and 1# of frozen polish kielbasa cut into 3" chunks. My fiance said it was the best sauerkraut I've ever made for him....even better than my German mom's recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Really good kraut! My 8 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIMATJNL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
Any recipe that starts with a whole stick of butter ought to have something going for it, right? Excellent - and it got the approval of my Slovak/Ukranian grandmother - a woman who knows her sauerkraut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I made this for Christmas dinner. I added in li'l smokies (mini sausages) my husband gives it 5 stars with the addin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
We added in smoked sausage dogs, and eat this on toasted hotdog buns. Out of a family of 6, 4 out of 6 enjoyed it. But hey, the two that didn't think it was wonderful, was my 2 youngest, ages 10, and 12. But Mom was in the mood for kraut, and when Mom cooks, you will at least try what Mom makes! LOL ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Best sauerkraut I've ever eaten. Even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States