Cola Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
Great side dish for pork dinners! Much more interesting and tasty than plain saurekraut. It was a big hit in my household - and very easy to prepare. To cut down on calories I used half the amount of butter indicated and it didn't seem to make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
Any recipe that starts with a whole stick of butter ought to have something going for it, right? Excellent - and it got the approval of my Slovak/Ukranian grandmother - a woman who knows her sauerkraut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
Hey, this isn't bad. Try it on meatloaf and ham, too. Also, use it on a sandwich to liven things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
excellent. I was so surprised. the whole family loved it. I like it a little tangier, so i had a cruet of vinegar and just a few drops made it perfect. Good job Drew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
I had a dinner party and served this. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. I added a little sugar, only because I prefer it a little on the sweet side. I will be serving this one again! It is very easy to prepare. By the way, I am not a sauerkraut lover, but this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
The best of this GENERATION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I made this for Christmas dinner. I added in li'l smokies (mini sausages) my husband gives it 5 stars with the addin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I only used 1/2 the amount of butter. I chopped up a couple pieces of bacon and sauted it with the butter and onions. I only added an 8 oz can of soda because I only ever buy the "baby" cans. I also added about a tsp. of caraway seed. I really liked it. My husband liked it as well. I don't know that I would use this on reubens or brats though. I wrote that about 4 hrs. ago. My husband just reheated some and said it's even better after it's had time for the flavors to come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This recipe really took me back to when I was growing up with my Lithuanian Grandma cooking pork roasts. I was never able to authenticate her sauerkraut until this recipe. I rinsed the brine very well from the sauerkraut first as I try to watch my sodium consumption. I did not cook the sauerkraut in the liquid the whole time, but drained it after it heated through about fifteen minutes and then added to my pork roast with kielbassi. The flavor was excellent, I also added some carway seeds to the kraut. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Excellent. Something about the cola takes the bite out of the kraut. I will fix this often as a side dish. My 9 year old daughter didn't try it until after our meal was over, while we were cleaning up. She took several bites of the leftovers from the pan and said if there would have been enough, she would have sat down and ate a whole bowl. I scaled the recipe down to 4 servings and I cut down on the unhealthy saturated fat by just using a TBSP of real butter and a TBSP of Heart Smart spread and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stressedcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States