Cola Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I made this for New Year's Dinner and served with pork roast. I thought it was very good. I will try again with Brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BuckeyeBrown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Good, tender slt sweet. Can 1/2 the butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This stuff is really yummy! I made it for dinner tonight and can't stop picking at the leftovers. I used Diet Coke and it had just the right amount of tang. I wasn't sure from the recipe if I was to drain the kraut or not so I did (drain it) and found that it was just right. Such a nice color too. I served it over mashed potatoes which is customary here and it was a real hit. Will definitely play with it by adding bacon or pork or sausage. A really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Good flavor; it took a little bit of the tartness away from the sauerkraut but still left plenty of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loudonville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Easy to make. I only had diet coke and I used that. It tasted great. I cooked a little longer. Great leftover too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Totowa, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Possibly my fault, but I didn't like this recipe. Being from Texas, I used Dr. Pepper (no Coke on hand). It just wasn't very good. I don't think the use of Coke would change my mind about this recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I enjoyed this. Being the only one in my home who will eat sauerkraut I halved the recipe. I added kielbasa in the last 15 minutes to make this a complete meal. I added a splash of white wine vinegar which cut the sweetness from the cola. I like it tangy. Thanks for a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
The flavor was better the next day...I ate this on a toasted sandwich (vegetarian reuben).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILRED7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Taito, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Very Very Sweet. Not the way I like sauerkraut. Wont use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Very good and simple. I let it simmer for a couple hours in a cast iron skillet...followed the recipe...every one enjoyed it... Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States