Cola Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Crazy combination of ingredients but somehow it works. My husband especially loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Excellent! I never thought onions in sauerkraut would be good, but it was perfect. My company loved this! We are making it a New Year tradition with our crown roast of pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I made this with a spicy venison roast and potatoes and it made the meal! My sauerkraut-obsessed boyfriend was very tentative about me "messing with the kraut" but he LOVED it!!! Very good the next day also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
It is really good. It is definitely more mild than standard sauerkraut by adding the cola. My 4 year old ate it even. I would have given it a 5 star actually but only did 4 because someone who LOVES Sauerkraut might miss the standard punch it usually has. If I were rating it for someone who does not like the really sour taste though... would give it a 5 star. Worth trying and seeing what you think. Would use less butter in the future though. Was good but not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WestCoastJana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I love sauerkraut, but I didn't love this. If I made it again I would only use enough butter to cook the onions in. I did not like the butter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delran, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Twins4Us
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Tried this with my spicy sausage, kraut, and potatoes dish, and it was wonderful. My husband has requested that I make it this way from now on. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twins4Us

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I was looking for a kraut recipe with a twist for St. Patty's day. Thanks for this one! It's great. I'll used it again-- i used kraut from a local deli, but that was the only sub. Came out, rich, tangy, a little sweet. The color is suspect at first but you forget about what it looks like once you eat it. This has a lot of butter so I may try to edit the butter down a little bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Sorry but we did not care for this. The recipe didn't specify whether to drain and rinse the sauerkraut and maybe that would've helped. I usually make my sauerkraut with an apple and some brown sugar, so I will try making those additions to this dish and see if we enjoy it more. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Excellent! I was aprehensive but figured this recipe was better than eating the kraut plain. I'm glad I tried it - it was delicious! Per other reviews I used Coke zero and added brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This was excellent and couldn't be easier! Will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States