Cola Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
We added in smoked sausage dogs, and eat this on toasted hotdog buns. Out of a family of 6, 4 out of 6 enjoyed it. But hey, the two that didn't think it was wonderful, was my 2 youngest, ages 10, and 12. But Mom was in the mood for kraut, and when Mom cooks, you will at least try what Mom makes! LOL ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Sorry- this took a long time and the taste was off and I'm European so I'm used to sauerkraut. I just wanted to try a different recipe. I'll just sit to frying it Thanks anyway...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Kind of sweet for me as I usually do the dill version of sauerkraut but it was good nevertheless. I used just a dab of butter. My conscience couldn't let me do more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
We tried this for New Years Day and what a great find. Everyone enjoyed this recipe, and begged for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Best sauerkraut I've ever eaten. Even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Good either hot or cold. The only change I made to the recipe was to add 1 1/2 TBSP of Balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I'll give this recipe 5 stars with the addition of my husband's changes. It is a great recipe to cut the tart flavour of the sauerkraut. We made 3L of sauerkraut and added 1/2 lb of crumbled bacon and about 3/4 cup chopped leftover ham and one grated potato. The resulting flavour was a bit too mild and we added a couple Tbsp of balsamic vinegar as others have suggested. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I'm giving this a 3 because I could stomach it at all -- I don't like sauerkraut, but made it for my half-German husband, who would probably rate it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I l-o-v-e sauerkraut, so when I came across this recipe, I had to give it a shot. I didn't change a thing, except the number of servings, since I was the only one eating this. It doesn't taste much different to me, so I'm guessing it's one of those recipes where the flavor comes through the following day as leftovers. Regardless, this is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by EQUILDOTTSIN
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Reminds me of growing up and having sauerkraut and weiners :-) ... only better. The butter and onions were the real kicker. I also threw in a dash of balsamic vinegar, 2 tblsp brown sugar, and a polish sausage cut into 1/2" slices. Wonderful blend of sweet and tangy. Great one-dish meal served with warm pumpernickel bread and sweet honey butter. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States