Cola Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
My family really likes this! The chicken was so tender. It's a bit like sweet and spicy chicken, without the spicy. Since we like spicy things as well, next time I'll add some cayenne or crushed red peppers or some other form of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I have heard several people say "you should cook chicken in cola! It makes it so good!" I had some chicken breasts and needed an idea, saw this and thought...ok. A previous reviewer didn't like it at all saying it was way too sweet b/c of the cola. I wondered if she had used regular. I had a diet and thought well maybe it won't be as sweet. I am not a picky eater but I found out tonight I don't like my chicken sweet unless it is a typical chinese dish. All a matter of preference of course. This is not a bad recipe. The flavor was very good, just too sweet for my liking. I won't make it again but finally my curiosity involving the cola is satisfied :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This is a good basic recipe to follow, however there are some changes that I made to improve the taste. For 2 chicken breasts, 10 oz of oyster sauce is wasteful and excessive. I used 3 oz of oyster sauce, 4 oz. of water, 2 teaspoons of garlic, 2 teaspoons of ginger, and 2 teaspoons dried rosemary. I added 1 tablespoon sugar to this and poured it over the chicken breasts. I simmered them on the stove for 15 minutes, and then chopped the chicken into bite size pieces and returned it to the same pan to cook for another 5 minutes. Finished the chicken has a tasty crust around it, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was a different recipe, and one that I might not have tried if I had not heard about a similar dish previously. Some of the other reviews commented on the "sweetness" of the sauce, but I found that by adding a bit of salt and/or using a bit less cola and a bit more broth, the taste is very good and the sweetness can be reduced. I also cooked mine for a full 30 minutes, and kept it covered for a good portion of that time. As it cooked, I noticed the flavor getting better, the taste of the seasonings really beginning to emerge. I only mention that to say that if you rush the cooking, you may miss some of the flavor. I think we will cook this again, and serve it over a bed of wide egg noodles. The gravy seemed to be perfect to use that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I made this for my husband & I the other night, and we just were not impressed at all, sorry. It didn't pick up enough of the other flavors, could only taste the cola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Great! Even my 1 yr ols loves it! I recommend it to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
Smells delicious while cooking. I did not cut the chicken into chunks but rather used 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I also used the George Foreman grill to brown the chicken--this eliminated the need for butter and thereby reduced the fat. The taste is not out of this world, but it is good and we will definitely have it again--if trying this recipe for the first time, you might want to add more rosemary or add another spice that gives it a bolder flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
A little boring and the kids weren't impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
This was good and easy. I wouldn't bother cubing the chicken, I think it would be fine cooked whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
My family liked this recipe. Amazing that no one could pick out the cola taste. I did cut the sody by 1/4 cup and added more chicken broth. All around everyone liked it. Next time I will use a bit or salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLACKVELVETRAV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States