Cola Pot Roast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Impressive! My crock-pot died on me, so I was forced to use my oven and I'm so glad I did. The roast was super tender...perfect. I can't wait to make for company. I used what I had on hand, cream of celery, mushroom gravy mix, and Dr.Pepper. I didn't notice a sweet taste and neither did my kids. Everything was so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatekisses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Very Tasty and EASY! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was very very good, followed the recipe to the T and it turned out great! served over a piece of texas toast with mashed potatoes and ate like an open faced sandwhich like they serve at BJs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizz bunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I have a super sore tooth, between the antibiotics and the painkillers, I was just looking for an easy meal to make my family, they've been eating take out and tv dinners for a couple of days, poor guys and I hate for them to eat such yuckola food. This was perfect! I was missing so many of the ingredients and still this turned out delicious. Like so many others, I rubbed the meat with spices (pepper, garlic powder, salt and red pepper flakes) then seared it quickly. Like I said before, I only had cream of mushroom soup, the onion soup mix, garlic and a small can of cola and that's it. The smell was enticing and by the time 4pm rolled around, I was so HUNGRRRY. The sauce is thin, so I made a quickie roux (flour and butter, in a pan over medium heat then slowly poured the sauce in, so so tasty. This was a super quick and easy meal and even I was able to eat it (very carefully on the not sore side of my mouth), I served it with microwave stuffed potatoes and green beans with cherry tomatoes, recipe on this site, it was plate licking tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This is a very good basic recipe and one that lends itself easily to customizing to one's tastes. I think 4 1/2 stars is just about right. It's a bit too plain for me, as written, to be a full 5 stars. I agree with one reviewer who suggested using a dry rub for the roast before placing into the crock pot. I used Montreal Steak seasoning by McCormack and it was perfect. I also love a rich mushroom gravy, so I added 1/2 a pound of sliced mushrooms to the mix. I think that instead of always relying on a plain brown gravy mix, one might amp up the recipe by using a chipotle or a bourbon and brown sugar flavored gravy, for example. The cola does wonders to help tenderize the meat but it does not lend a distinctly sweet flavor, either. Overall, then, this recipe is a true keeper. (By the way, the left- overs made a wonderful pot pie the following day. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Very good, I never would have thought to use this combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Really flavorful! The only thing I changed was I put it in the slow cooker for 8 hours, added babybella mushrooms and onion,used whole bag of baby carrots, then at the 6 hour mark I added cut up potatoes. I also made a roux to thicken the juices to create the perfect beef gravy! My family loved this. I'll definately cook this one for company. Oh yah and a crispy loaf of french bread to dunk. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabbyskyy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Banos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Delicious. I prepare exactly as written and it turns out wonderful every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I've been making this recipe for years. I absolulty love it. I follow the directions, but I don't cook it as long...2.5 hours tops. I use the whole can of coke and add potatoes as well.... Thank you for sharing this! I have shared it with my friends too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mzelli1
Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
OMG, just ate this for dinner and it was soooo good. I did mine in the crockpot since I had to go out, I added fresh mushrooms. I was worried because i didnt have the gravy or onion soup so I put in 3 cube beef bullion, but hubby went to the store and got the gravy and onion soup mix, so I just mixed it with a little cold water and added to the crock about 30 min before it was done. I used garlic powder since that is what I had. It really turned out good and tasty with a hint of sweet. I will make this again. Thanks a ton, dont need to change a thing/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 714) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States