Cola Pot Roast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was very good!! I will be making this again! Thank you for posting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bluffton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Overall excellent. I did add a few parsnips, yukon gold potatoes, and extra carrots and celery. Also, added about half cup bolognese sauce for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Superb! Having never made a pot roast before, I had two goals: tender meat and lots of flavor. This accomplished both and was very easy. I used 3 lbs of meat since there's only four of us, but kept the gravy portion the same because you can never have enough, IMO. I made this in my Dutch oven. Started by seasoning the roast with meat rub, then browning it with a bit of olive oil. Then I removed it, and sautéed onions and garlic in the Dutch oven, added the meat and then followed the rest of the directions by the book. My meat was completely covered in the gravy, so no worries about any of it being dry. I served it over a bed of mashed potatoes. Everyone loved it, but no one more than me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Makes a thick gravy and the beef comes out tender. Cola makes it too sweet though - far too much for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Made this for dinner tonight and it was absolutely amazing!!! I am not really a big fan of pot roast, but let me tell you I will be sure to make this many more times! I used a 3.5 lb chuck roast and rubbed it with salt, pepper & garlic. I used my crockpot instead of the oven. Did an hour on high and about 8 on low. Added 2 tbsp cornstarch mixed with water for the last 30 min of cooking. Gravy thickened up perfectly! Make sure you Get some crusty bread to wipe that plate clean, it is that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nmurray6183

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This recipe is absolutely delicious! I agree with some people that you could definitely add more carrots, onions, even mushrooms. But that said, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
The best Pot Roast I have ever made!! Cooked in the crock pot ~ 8 hours on low. Doubled soup and extra Cola for more gravy. Also added more carrots because my kids LOVE cooked carrots. Served with mashed potatoes. SOO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
As suggested by another I used beer instead of cola and added red potatoes. Floured with pepper and browned I a bit of oil prior to cooking in the crock pot Cooked on high for approximately six hours and it was delicious. Husband rated the recipe five stars. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Rich and Yummy gravy-so easy. I followed the directions to a t, and that roast was soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I make this all the time and we love it! Sometimes I use the crockppot too. If I don't have onion soup mix I substitute a beef bouillon cube, 1tsp dried onions, 1/4 tsp thyme and it works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States