Cola Pot Roast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I love this recipe. I have even used a frozen roast and put it in the crock pot for 12 hours and it still turned out like a dream. My husband loves this recipe. I do use baby bella mushrooms instead of celery and add cut up potatoes. I have honestly never been much of a roast fan and this one just knocks my socks off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was so easy and good. I pretty much followed the recipe. Added a bit more garlic (4 cloves) and added mushrooms, onions and a large quartered potatoe. It is so nice to come home from shopping and smell dinner cooking. This may be my favorite pot roast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
We used chuck roast and it came out fantastic, I got a lot of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
i used cream of celery instead of cream of mushroom because i'm pregnant and the thought of mushrooms makes me gag. i also left out the brown gravy mix but added some fat free beef broth. the end result was a little soupy, but i know i could have added cornstarch if i had wanted to. i couldn't taste the coke, outright, but i will say the roast was delish, falling apart, hearty, flavorful, and it hit the spot. thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Excellent! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I love this recipe! I used onion gravy mix instead and used the crockpot for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This was very good - definitely tasty, but I wouldn't say the best I have ever had. I cooked everything in crock pot on low for about 10 hours while I was at work. I used baby portabellas and a whole onion in addition to the carrots (which I used about 3/4 bag of baby carrots) and celery. I was a little concerned about lack of liquid, so once everything was in the crock pot, I threw a little splash of water in there. There was lots of "juice" to work with in the end and it was quite flavorful. I added another envelope of brown gravy mix, as I like my gravies super rich and, yes, a little salty. Even so, everyone thought the gravy and veggies were perfect, despite the addition of more gravy mix. I would make this again the same way, but will probably add some peas at the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I used a 3# chuck roast that I coated with flour, montreal steak seasoning and garlic powder and then browned in a pan with olive oil on both sides. I didn't have any brown gravy mix or celeery so I just used the full 12 oz of coke, can of mushroom soup and onion soup packet. I added carrots and mushrroms and cooked in the crock pot for 8 hours on low and added some yukon gold potatoes for the last 2 hours. I love that there is a ready made gravy as soon as it's done. It was delicious! It fell apart and was so tender. My three boys said it was the best pot roast I have ever made! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTIBOHL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Very good! I also cooked the roast in a slow cooker for 10 hours, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
The gravy is good, but very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 724) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States