Cola Pot Roast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Instead of braising the meat on the stove, I roasted it in the oven at 350 degrees for a little over 2 hours. I really liked the way the cola tightened up the sauce giving it a sweet flavor and almost chutney like consistency. My issue with the recipe was I thought it tasted too much like the spaghetti seasoning. I would try the recipe again but maybe with a different kind of seasoning packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Good, tender pot roast. I left out the celery and added a tablespoon of minced garlic. I browned mine for about three minutes per side and then put it in the crock pot. Served it with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
great crock pot recipe, used chile seasoning instead of spaghetti seasoning and it turned out fantastic!!! Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I can't get over how great this was! This might be the best roast I have ever made! I literally had no left overs. The changes I made were few, but I did salt, pepper, then flour the meat before browning it. I transferred it to a crock pot, deglazed the pan I browned it in, and poured it over the meat. I didn't have any stewed tomatoes, so I chopped three tomatoes up and I think the fresh tomatoes really added something to this recipe. It was a very busy day, so I just threw in some potatoes instead worrying about making mashed potatoes as I usually do. Thank you for submitting this recipe, and for suggesting it to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I swear I try not to edit the recipes because I want to try them as is. But I did add a small jar of mushrooms to this...and I have to say. This is so yummy! I will definately make it again! The kids even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica L Antel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Believe my minor changes/additions brought this recipe to a 5.5 - you must try it! Used the full 12oz bottle of Coke, replaced onion with red onion, used less salt (1/4 tsp), replaced garlic salt with 2 lg. garlic cloves, finely minced, used Italian stewed tomatoes, added 3 TB tomato paste to cut sweet of pkgd spaghetti sauce, 1/4 c. Swanson's beef broth, and one 1" x 1" bay leaf. Tied kitchen-twine around outside edge of a 3-lb. chuck roast before browning in a 5-qt. Dutch oven. Added all ingredients to the pot, brought to a boil then, covered and cooked in oven at 325 for 2-1/4 hrs (45 mins/lb). The gravy didn't require any thickening. Served with linguine and oven-roasted broccoli with sliced garlic and chili-oil. I very much like this pot roast and every dinner guest requested the recipe so, I send many thanks to the contributor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I liked it. This recipe adds a new twist to an old favorite because of the different ingredients that I’ve never used before in a pot roast. It’s hard to mess up this type of pot roast so long as you simmer the meat, covered and on a low setting, in a little liquid for 2-1/2 to 3 hours. I prefer going 3 hours. At times, I just use water, salt & pepper, and one onion cut into several pieces and it turns out very good. Add some fresh baby carrots, canned green beans, and some cut up potatoes during the last 45 to 60 minutes of cooking and you have yourself a nice vegetable beef stew after you cut up the meat and return it to the pot. When done, I usually add salt and pepper again to taste. Fresh green beans are even better but I allow for at least a good 2 hours of cooking time for them. Sometimes I do start off by browning the meat in oil. Other times, when I’m short on time and don’t feel like dealing with the mess and splatter, I skip the browning and just go straight to simmering. I think it turns out good either way though I’m sure some would disagree with skipping this step. Though it takes several hours to cook, pot roast makes a wonderful meal and is fairly easy to make with plenty of room for experimentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Easy to make and very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncanville, Texas, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
My first successful roast. Good flavor and very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was great. I had to make my own spaghetti sauce seasoning since I couldnt find any at the market. This was great served oved egg noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States