Cola Pot Roast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This recipe was awesome. I will be making it all the time. I used a crock pot but everything else was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
yummy! i added a whole can of cola for more gravy & the flavor was wonderful-a keeper-thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
A little too salty for me, but it was easy, and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Wow. who knew. I did use DP instead of coke its what I had.. This was wayy tender! try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
didn't go over as good as I had hoped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Let me preface this by saying that I am NOT a fan of pot roast - at all! Hubby is tho, so I gave this a try and was blown away by how good it was!! I didn't make any changes except I did add about a TBL of W.shire sauce (probably didn't make a difference). I did brown the roast and then put it in the slow cooker and poured the sauce over it. Set it on low and let it go for 8 hrs. It did worry me when DH came home and said "mmm smells like spaghetti" but it definitely did not taste like it. It came out perfect! The sauce was not too sweet at all and had a nice tang to it - almost sweet/sour but not quite. Dh made an open face sandwich the next day for lunch and loved it. This will definitely be made and shared again! UPDATED: I have made this several times now and have landed on my fav. modifications. 1)Heat 2 TBL oil in dutch oven and while it's heating, add 3 or 4 whole, peeled cloves of garlic. Remove when they start to brown This replaces the garlic salt. 2)Salt, pepper and flour the roast before browning. Remove meat and place in crockpot. I omitted the rest of the salt. 3) De-glaze dutch oven with about 1/3 cup good red wine making sure to scrap up the bits on the bottom. Pour over the meat. 4) In the same dutch oven, mix your tomatoes, spag. sauce seasoning, cola and veggies. Pour over meat and set crockpot on low for about 7 hours or high for about 5. 5) During last hour, add baby carrots and new potatoes if desired. This is now a fav of our family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ralloyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I made this with venison steaks and it was fantastic! The sauce made the venison really tender and minimized the gamey taste. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I will try to give as good of a review as I can.. considering my husband only heard me talking about this recipe and decided he would make it. hee hee He used a jar of spagetti sauce, a can of diet coke, dehydrated onion, garlic powder, carrots and potatoes in the bottom of the crock pot, roast on top the other ingredients on top of that, he then cooked it on high for 6 hours. Considering he didn't even know what the exact recipe was, it was pretty tasty and definitely tender and juicy. (next time I will make it myself the correct way) lol lol Definitely a keeper, he used a chuck roast. I had to smile... he was trying to please me? If he had only listened when I was reading the recipe to him last night? hahahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDROSIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Made this in the crockpot and the only adjustment that I made was to use minced garlic instead of garlic salt and I omitted the salt and seasoned to taste before serving. The next time I make this I will add another can of stewed tomatoes minus the juice and will serve it over polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States