Cola Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
If you like sweet and tangy meat, then I think this is a good recipe. I liked the juiciness of the meat, but I realized I personally am not a big fan of the sweetness. However, my husband did like it and he is rather judgemental of food he didn't prepare himself. I did add a little hot sauce for him, but that's all I changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Wand-Bull

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This was just okay. I will say I think the cola tenderdized the pork somewhat, but I don't see myself making this one again, unless I'm in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was quite simply the BEST pork chop recipe I have ever tried. Following the advice of others who reviewed this recipe, I substituted half the ketchup with my favorite BBQ sauce. Then I poured a little of the sauce down in the pan before placing the chops in. Finally I covered the pan with foil and baked them for 45 minutes. Perfection. They were so tender they melted in my mouth, and my husband and daughter both thought they were absolutely delicious. I will definitely be making this dish again and again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I've been a vegetarian for the majority of my life so cooking meat has always been a bit tricky for me, yet necessary to keep my meat-eating family happy. These porkshops were a hit at the dinner table! Even my son, a very picky eater, loved them. What else could a Mom ask for? 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I baked in roaster pan, covered until last 10 minutes, and they were very moist. Kids liked them, too, which is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Very easy to make. I was using 8 thin cut pork chops. Used 1/2 cup of barbeque sauce, just under 1/4 ketchup (all I had left), Pepsi and mixed the brown sugar in all together. Sprinkled salt and pepper on the chops before adding the sauce (poured sauce in the pan, added chops, poured sauce over shops). Cooked for 15 mins at 350, then broiled for 5 mins or so at 400 to get the chops to brown and the sauce to stick a bit more. I found the chops tangy, not sweet like some honey-based recipes I have tried. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This recipe is very good. I doubled the sauce and substituted chicken breasts for the chops. I cooked stovetop like another reviewer suggested, and they turned out very tender! The only thing I will do differently next time is reduce the brown sugar by about half. I believe the cola provides enough sugar in this recipe, and with the added brown sugar I found the sauce to be a bit too sweet for my liking. Otherwise, the recipe's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This is the best pork chops I have ever had. My daughter even ate these and she never eats pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Added some red pepper and hot sauce for kick and cooked in a baking bag to keep them from being dry. Great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This recipe rocks! It was super easy & the chops tasted awesome! At first, my 8-year old son & I were a bit sketchy about the mixture of catsup & cola, but we both came around after the first bite... it will definitely be making an encore in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hannaford, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States