Cola Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This was simply amazing! My family loved it. I added less ketchup because I only had 2/3 cup on hand. Put the chops in a dutch oven lined with tin foil(didn't even need to clean the pan) and poured sauce over the top. The chops were completely covered from the sauce. Baked in the oven, lid off for 40 minutes. I had 4 chops and they were 1/4" thick. Served it over rice and black bean mixture and poured extra sauce over everything. There was nothing left! Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
i think you could half the brown sugar in these because if you use regular soda its pretty sweet already. i used coke zero and all the brown sugar and it was a tad sweet. that said these were super tender and a good change up from pan fried pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
My husband and kids really like this dish. I do make it a little different and that's browning the chops in the hot skillet first, then sauteeing a little chopped onion and minced garlic in a little butter until it "softens", then adding in the cola, ketchup and brown sugar and letting that all cook together. My boys like this either with hot buttered rice or mashed potatoes. For them, this is pure comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Made this last night according to directions, added onion powder and garlic. It was just okay. Was very heavy on the 'ketchup taste'. I probably wont make again. I have a recipe for cola pork roast that uses cola, cream of mushroom and onion soup mix and it's way better than this. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Bergman Renken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
my family loves this. we use mt. dew for the soda and it is so jucie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akwhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was a very good starting recipe! Didn't make many changes just added some more seasonings and seared the pork chops first! Was very delicious over rice!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Very Good! Sprinkled chops with McCormic Smokehouse Pepper,a little salt, patted it in well, and (make sure chops are DRY) dusted with Wondra flour,browned in (happened to have bacon drippings) and a little olive oil. Turned out great! I used thick cut chops and baked , at 325 (convection oven) for 1 1/2 hr in a glass baking dish. My husband and 2 yr old daughter loved it! Easy and good! Chops were very thick and they came out almost falling apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cross Plains, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I did not like this? I have had Ham cook with cola and brown sugar but this just did not turn out good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
My husband and I were less than impressed. I followed the recipe accordingly but thought that the sauce was too bland/too ketchupy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
To thicken the sauce.... lightly flour the chops before you put them in the pan. Put a bit of sauce in the bottom of the pan, then chops, then sauce. I have made this for up to 50 people and I can even layer everything. It comes out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANEYLORENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States