Cola Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
OMG!!!!!! It was so very good. I used two cans of diet soda and a little over a cup of ketchup. I grilled one onion before adding the ingredients. It was was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
i just made this last night for my family and it was a hit! we eat a lot of chicken and this was a perfectly easy way to do that 'something different' to it. my sis grew bored of chicken and wouldnt eat it but she immediately wanted more! it was juicy and falling apart it was so tender, we're already coming up with more ways to use this chicken =) thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
made this recipe yesterday,,, delicious,,kids loved it,,,will definitely make it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
this was so easy & my fussy husband enjoyed it. I added dried onions & paprika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I was looking to use up some extra soda and ketchup I had leftover from a BBQ and came upon this recipe. My husband and I were surprised at how good it was without having to add anything extra! One thing I did change was the amount of soda used. Frankly, the pot I put everything in wasn't big enough and ended up using a little over a liter of soda instead and it tasted great! I think any more soda than that would have been too watery and too soda-flavored. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I have no idea what I did wrong here, but I wouldn't call my attempt at this recipe a success. After 45 min. of cooking on med-high heat, it had formed a 1/4 inch of what I can only compare to asphalt on the bottom of my pot. I had to pry what chicken I could from the bottom and trash the rest. I guess I had the heat too high? It didn't actually taste terrible, very similar to bbq chicken. Not sure if I will try this recipe again, though I could very well have been the flaw in my efforts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winnfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Simply amazing!! Very easy and always a success! The first time I made this I used frozen chicken drumsticks. I experienced my first try to be too sweet. Instead of using diet cola I rather went with 1/2 can tomato puree and 1/2 cup tomato sauce and added 250ml of cream and 2 teaspoons garlic powder- The boyfriend loved the original recipe while mom preferred the second....Adding ground black pepper a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdioChick
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
The combination of cola + ketchup can be used with all sorts of meats not just chicken! I have to recommend to you all try using DR PEPPER when using beef!!!!! I haven't tried using Dr. P on chicken but I'm going to very soon and I'll let you guys know. One of the real advantages of using coke/Dr P/whatever is that the acidity in soda helps break down tough pieces of meat so you can save money by buying tougher cuts which are cheaper and generally sold in higher weight (more meat for your fam or more leftovers). Throwing this into a slow cooker in the morning takes seconds, turn it on low and thats that. Depending on how long your gone during the day might vary how thick your sauce is, if you find its too thin remove the cover and turn it up on high. I also recommend that if you use breasts with the skin on, you might find that broiling them in the oven until they are crispy is good, however I don't use the skin so I can't tell you how long to keep it in for, just watch em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
very yummy! I pulled the chicken and put it on onion rolls. Those having problems with it not getting goopy, you have to let it boil down, it'll get there boiling after 2 hours. I had to set it to high not medium to get it there in the 2 hours though. It was indeed sweet, I wouldn't have used a cherry coke, it's sweet enough with the regular coke. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Gibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This is amazing! I loved this. We followed the recipe exactly. We ate it plain with some cooked broccoli. It was so simple to make and delicious at the same time. We used Dr. Pepper to make it--so good! I am definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States