Cola Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
This is a family favorite! CURE FOR BLAND... right here . I used Dr Pepper to sweeten up the chicken. MUST DO - When you use breast meat you need to do something about it being a bit bland. I put the breast (boneless) in the crock pot coat with Ketchup coating chicken then pour the Dr Pepper in not washing the Ketchup away. cook on low about 6 hours, use 2 forks and SHRED (do not dice) the chicken. Once shredded use a gallon bag and put about 2 cups of the liquid in the bag along with the shredded chicken (liquid is still drink consistency). Let this sit for a good while to get the coating on the pieces. (15-30 minutes or so). Make sure you have fresh limes on hand to squeeze on meat. We love this as a street taco so corn torillas with the lime squeeze on chicen and your favorite toppings. I highly recommend avocado and some pico de gallo with corn and black beans in it. Sour Cream and cheese is great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doc Simonson
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I have a hard time understanding how this could be so flavorful with only three ingredients. I would have liked more heat, but my family loved it. I made it exactly to recipe though scaled down by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was good and very easy. I followed the recipe as stated but next time I think I'll doctor it a little. I think some brown sugar would add a little something to the sauce and more veggies would be good. My 4yr old enjoyed it so I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Sorry,not for me. Chicken was dry and sauce was nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
wicked good! did add some stuff, though. i browned the chicken first and also added veggies: onion, garlic, carrots, celery and red peppers (was trying to use them up). SO GOOD! was iffy on letting it boil for so long...but you def have to do it to get it to thicken up. would be great to serve up to a house full of peeps :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binkyj826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very good and simple; followed others advice and added Onion & Garlic, then when it came to a slow boil added Onion & Garlic Powder, and a small amount of Red Chili flake for spice. Very good and served with Mixed Veggies and Mac & Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I have found that this is the greatest recipe! My family loves it! I use Pepsi and a 20oz container of Heinz ketchup. I also add lots and lots of Greek seasoning (my secret ingredient). I have to make two to three large packs of chicken breasts in order to satisfy not only my family but neighbors who just seem to magically know when I make it. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARSaltman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
YUMMY!! The whole family fell in love! It smelled so good while cooking and tasted even better. We added sliced onion and 2 diced garlic cloves along with black pepper right into the sauce mix and let it simmer the whole 2 hours, it was perfect. Will make often, super easy, so few ingredients. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Way too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This recipe was very easy and wonderful tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States