Cola Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I loved the chocolate version, but wanted to try something different... so I made it with a french vanilla flavored cake mix, a can of diet mountain dew, and a can of well drained crushed pineapple. Laid the pineapple down in an even layer on the bottom of the pan, then poured the mixture over the top of it. When the cake was done, and cooled, turned it upside down on a platter, and served with fresh strawberries crushed up, and a drizzle of chocolate sauce, with whipped cream. Tasted like I'd slaved for HOURS... SO yummy! Could use sliced bananas in there too, and make it into banana split cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This is a great cake! Works great with diet drinks as well. Then the only calories in the cake is in mix. Good topped with light cool whip mixed with a little peanut butter. Cake is extremly moist and therefore keeps longer than tradional cakes. No one knows it was made with a soda unless it is revealed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muddyh2os

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This is a quick dessert when you are in need of something sweet but not a whole lot is in your pantry. There are less sugar mixes you can use these days and a variety of diet sodas that you can use as well. To make it go even further, I like to cut the cooled cake into bits and layer it with FF whipped topping and sliced fruit for a quick low-fat trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I love this recipe and have experimented with different flavors of cake mix and diet soda. Spice cake with diet orange soda is my favorite. For those who say it doesn't rise enough but still want to cut fat and calories, add two egg whites rather than whole eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YellowBird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I made this with yellow cake mix and coke zero cherry and made cupcakes. I really like it. Light and airy but a good sweet fix! It made 24 cupcakes (on the small side) and they were 2 weight watcher points on the new points plus system. I loved them! Can't wait to try w/ other flavor cake mixes/diet sodas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
10 STARS!!! Everyone loved it and it is gone after one meal! A MUST TRY for any doubters out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Okay, I was skeptical. I had had friends tell me they had tried this but hadn't myself. So today I did. It's great. You don't have to use chocolate cake mix. Any flav will work. I used white and used a can of pepsi one which made the cake a golden brown. It doesn't rise quite as high but the cake is very moist. Even my daughter who is challenged in the kitchen can make this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJROBB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Creek, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Super good!! I used a cherry coke and it was absolutely the moistest cake I have ever had. It was almost like a fudgy brownie. I like the fact that it doesn't have oil or anything in it either. Soo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I made the chocolate version of this cake yesterday and it is already gone today. I used a bundt pan and added a whole egg to the recipe. In less than 24 hours, a household of 3 tore up that cake. I used a chocolate glaze for top and it was delish! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
this is close to a long lost recipe i have made a million times in the past so im so happy to find it. i cook up some cherry pie filling with some coke for the topping. yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States