Cola Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Super fabulous! I was out of eggs, oil and milk. I did not have a chocolate cake mix but used a yellow cake mix and added 1/2 cup of unsweetened Hershey's cocoa. I also added semi-sweet chocolate chips which I had on hand. Amazing flavor and moistness. Didn't even feel the need to frost this cake after adding the chocolate chips. Easy, fast and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Came out SUPER moist...I will admit, I had my doubts. But ever since I ran across this recipe, this is the technigue I use EVERY time I make a cake. I've tried it with Coke, Cherry Coke, Mountain Dew, Sprite and Sunkist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
OMG! This tasted soooo good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
yummy, yummy, yummy! I had rave reviews for this cake! I made chocolate w/ coke and canned vanilla frosting. I am making the next one with cherry coke and chocolate :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALMEMOORE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Very good! I used Sprite Zero and added a handful of mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I loved the chocolate version, but wanted to try something different... so I made it with a french vanilla flavored cake mix, a can of diet mountain dew, and a can of well drained crushed pineapple. Laid the pineapple down in an even layer on the bottom of the pan, then poured the mixture over the top of it. When the cake was done, and cooled, turned it upside down on a platter, and served with fresh strawberries crushed up, and a drizzle of chocolate sauce, with whipped cream. Tasted like I'd slaved for HOURS... SO yummy! Could use sliced bananas in there too, and make it into banana split cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This is a quick dessert when you are in need of something sweet but not a whole lot is in your pantry. There are less sugar mixes you can use these days and a variety of diet sodas that you can use as well. To make it go even further, I like to cut the cooled cake into bits and layer it with FF whipped topping and sliced fruit for a quick low-fat trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This is a great cake! Works great with diet drinks as well. Then the only calories in the cake is in mix. Good topped with light cool whip mixed with a little peanut butter. Cake is extremly moist and therefore keeps longer than tradional cakes. No one knows it was made with a soda unless it is revealed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muddyh2os

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-58 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States