Cola-Brined Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
OK, so I started this recipe last night (brining the wings per the instructions) followed by the recommended marinade paste just before cooking. Let's start off with a few observations: --I smoked the wings at 250 degrees for 2hr 45 minutes and the chicken was falling off the bone --Meat was super tender and with great flavor --I also used my own dry rub seasoning --Some of the wings were smoked with only the overnight marinade; nothing else I am highly impressed with this recipe; super simple and delicious. The wings were delicious without anything added (just the overnight brine/salt mixture....this marinade can stand on its own. Also, the paste created from the recipe is tasty as well and my very own dry rub was fantastic as well. Only thing I did differently was cut the amount of salt in the brine by 1/2 (I heeded the advice of others who have tried this recipe); I'm glad I did for it came out perfect. Maybe next time I'll try them in the oven instead (then again probably not) for smoking these babies seems to be the way to go). Finally, I used applewood in my smoker. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ernestkaye
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Best chicken I ever made. I went to Publix and they were sold out of wings, so I bought thighs instead. Like some others, I cut the salt portions in half. Grilled the outside to a crisp on the open grill, then wrapped in foil and covered to let them smoke for almost an hour. SO good! Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I was making over 60 wings for a party and I tried three different recipes from Allreicipies.com. This one was the hands down favorite. They went so fast that I never even got to eat any from this batch. Next time I will be sure and try em myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skillet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Winter Garden, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Cut the salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Perfect the way it is. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Hands down the best chicken wing recipe EVER! The hubs, who claims to not like chicken, has become a fan of these! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Brookins
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I only added 1tbs of salt to the chicken and coke which I thought was perfect. I didn't pat the chicken dry after darining out the coke cause I didn't see it making a difference. The chicken came out great kind of like bourbon chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dookie007
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Made these a couple times since I got the recipe.Like these very much and they're easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was very delicious. I liked the rub a lot. I used a Slovenian soda called Cockta, which is a citrusy cola. You can get it at specialty liquor stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
very very good! one of the best wing recipes i've tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

How to Eat Chicken Wings

See a great trick for slipping the bones from cooked chicken wings.

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States