Cola-Basted Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I just made this for Christmas dinner for 8 guests. All I heard was "WOW!!" I used a 2-liter bottle of vanilla coke for a 12 pound bone in smoked ham. I turned the ham over in the roaster every hour or so to evenly distribute the cola juices. This saved me from having to stay in the kitchen to frequently baste it. I skipped the step with the paste and additional cooking on a roasting rack. This ham is very juicy, not salty at all, and very tasty. When my guests heard how I was making the ham, there was a lot of raised eyebrows. But when it came time to eat...let's just say I never heard them be soooo silent. All their skepticism went away with the first bite. Thank you for posting this recipe and the bellies of my guests thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nanty Glo, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I made this ham for my in-laws at Easter this year. What a terrific idea to add cola in the cooking process! I did however tweek it a little. We had 2 half hams that totalled just over 8lbs combined. I scored the top of both hams and poured 2 cans cola over them. (Two cans gave me about a half inch in the bottom of my big roast pan.) I left the lid on and basted about every 15-20 minutes with the cola in the bottom of the ham. I didn't make the recommended paste for our ham but rather did what I usually do when making a ham. Mix together 1 cup brown sugar, 1 tbsp dry mustard, 1 tsp yellow mustard, and enough real maple syrup to make a thick "slurry". The ham was baked in total for 2 hours. During the last half hour is when I brushed on the maple mixture, with the lid off. My partners scepticism about cola and ham together went away with the first bite he had! I didn't tell our guests till after they were done that it was basted with cola...my mother and father-in-law had 5 plates between the 2 of them! The cola was a tasty addition to my old recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLE_F

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kamarie
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This recipe really is fantastic. The ham was so tender. I did follow the advice of others and omitted the bread crumbs. The result was a beautiful, slightly carmalized, mustard sauce on the outside of the ham. Also, I used cherry cola with a few garlic cloves floating in the pan. I don't even like ham, and I loved this. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamarie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
I use 7-UP instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
WONDERFUL!!! The recipe was a complete success. One suggestion, however. SInce my hubby & I are diabetic, I tried w/splenda brown sugar & diet soda & it came out just as well as the lareger one I made for the non-diabetics at xmas dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlyMcSparkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
the boyfriend wanted cola ham for christmas as they did this often in his hometown in indiana. being from hawaii, i didn't want to get rid of my pinapple glaze. so i just made my pinapple glaze and added a can of cherry coke to the mix and it was really delicious! the addition of coke makes ham very good! give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vampyra1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I would've given this no stars if i had the choice...sorry! The "paste" was too thick - even though we added more and more cola to it and it turned into what looked like a mortar! The ham was dry and the "paste" tasted and smelled very bad. Won't try that again. Sorry, but i thought people should know...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I made this recipe for my first holiday dinner party at my new home. I followed the steps to a "T" but when it came time for the paste, I omitted the breadcrumbs and it turned out absolutley delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angrmk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Barre, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I made a ham for the first time and used this recipe. Was it ever good. will definately use this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This recipe was great!! I didn't use the breadcrumbs...just used the cola for the slurry of brown sugar dry mustard and yellow mustard. Everyone was VERY happy! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States