Cola-Basted Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
I kept this a secret till every one was done eating. The i told them I cooked with Cola.......my hubby MR PICKY was to say the least shocked. I will make this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Very easy and quite tasty. The ham was so tender you didn't even need a knife!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANADIAN EH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I made this recipe for my first holiday dinner party at my new home. I followed the steps to a "T" but when it came time for the paste, I omitted the breadcrumbs and it turned out absolutley delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angrmk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Barre, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
I tried adding more and more cola but I ended up having to scrape the stuff off the ham just to make it edible. Next time I will stick with the cola and brown sugar and leave it at that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I would've given this no stars if i had the choice...sorry! The "paste" was too thick - even though we added more and more cola to it and it turned into what looked like a mortar! The ham was dry and the "paste" tasted and smelled very bad. Won't try that again. Sorry, but i thought people should know...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I made this ham for my in-laws at Easter this year. What a terrific idea to add cola in the cooking process! I did however tweek it a little. We had 2 half hams that totalled just over 8lbs combined. I scored the top of both hams and poured 2 cans cola over them. (Two cans gave me about a half inch in the bottom of my big roast pan.) I left the lid on and basted about every 15-20 minutes with the cola in the bottom of the ham. I didn't make the recommended paste for our ham but rather did what I usually do when making a ham. Mix together 1 cup brown sugar, 1 tbsp dry mustard, 1 tsp yellow mustard, and enough real maple syrup to make a thick "slurry". The ham was baked in total for 2 hours. During the last half hour is when I brushed on the maple mixture, with the lid off. My partners scepticism about cola and ham together went away with the first bite he had! I didn't tell our guests till after they were done that it was basted with cola...my mother and father-in-law had 5 plates between the 2 of them! The cola was a tasty addition to my old recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLE_F

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I made a ham for the first time and used this recipe. Was it ever good. will definately use this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I just made this for Christmas dinner for 8 guests. All I heard was "WOW!!" I used a 2-liter bottle of vanilla coke for a 12 pound bone in smoked ham. I turned the ham over in the roaster every hour or so to evenly distribute the cola juices. This saved me from having to stay in the kitchen to frequently baste it. I skipped the step with the paste and additional cooking on a roasting rack. This ham is very juicy, not salty at all, and very tasty. When my guests heard how I was making the ham, there was a lot of raised eyebrows. But when it came time to eat...let's just say I never heard them be soooo silent. All their skepticism went away with the first bite. Thank you for posting this recipe and the bellies of my guests thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nanty Glo, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
I use 7-UP instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States