Cola-Basted Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is so easy and tastes great! I use this everytime I cook ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
did not like the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I followed this recipe for the first cooking period and in addition to frequent basting, I also turned the ham over hourly. It still came out a bit dry. For Aussies or anyone else eating this ham cold on Chrissy day, I'd suggest halving the initial cooking time then going on to the slurry step (minus the bread crumbs). The actual flavour was really good though. The sticky glaze on top was yum-o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baranduda, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Made this for Christmas dinner. The ham itself was fairly nice and moist for the most part, but the paste was wicked thick (and goopey) and did not come out as a glaze, as the recipe mentioned. I was trying to duplicate a recipe a friend did for a baby shower, and while this one was not horrible, it wasn't the greatest cola ham I have ever had...this gets 2 or 2 1/2 "Noms"..."Nom Nom"...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUEHOWIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Wonderfully moist, tender and tasty. I did not make the paste, just basted the ham in cola. I marinated the ham in 12 oz cola in a plastic oven cooking bag for 2 hours. Threw out the marinade and put fresh cola in a baking pan. Cooked ham at 300d. Ham started to overbrown after 1 hour. Covered ham with aluminum foil and started basting more frequently. If I had a pair of turkey lifters, I would have turned the ham over. Cooked for another 2 hours, lifting the foil and basting every 15 minutes, and it came out very tender. Second only to a $54 honey baked ham that I once bought at a specialty ham store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Tender and juicy. A bit sweet, but that is what you expect when you cook with pepsi. Unlike other reviews, I did not think the ham tasted like pepsi, only the sweetness of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I made this at Thanksgiving and it is so good!! I can't wait to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meaganteal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Very good. Was unable to find cherry coke, used Dr. Pepper and regular coke. Made for Easter '08
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Very good recipe. The flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherokee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
DON'T use Pepsi! Tastes like a Pepsi on ham. We had high hopes for this on Easter weekend, but no one liked it and I was stuck with a ton of leftovers that I had to throw out. Will try again with Vanilla Coke, as that sounds preferable. But, so far, not a big fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIXIE CHICKEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States